Skip to main content

Citation Sources: MLA Style

Assistance with citing your sources for a research paper.

MLA Overview

The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (R808.027 G437m 2003is mostly used by high school and college students. It gives step-by-step advice on every aspect of writing papers, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. It provides an authoritative presentation of MLA documentation style for use in student writing.  A second copy may also be found in Kathryn's Study.

The MLA International Bibliography database, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), is a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals database, also produced by the MLA, offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography.


Capitalization in Foreign Language Titles

When adding a title that is in a foreign languge, follow these basic rules regardless of citation style:

For German, capitalize the first word and all nouns.

For French, capitalize THROUGH the first noun in the title.

For Italian and other languages, capitalize just the first word.

(NOTE: Always capitalize all proper nouns.)

MLA Style

For specific details and examples on citing sources within a paper and on creating a Works Cited page, mouseover the "MLA Style" tab above and choose the appropriate subpage.

The MLA Scholar tab has been subsumed into this section. The style of citation is the same. The MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing mainly differs in describing layout and writing styles. Since that is beyond the scope of this LibGuide, all MLA citation notes have been merged into this tab.

Additional Info