Skip to main content

Houghton Memorial Library (Huntingdon College) Web Site: Faculty Resources

Did You Know?

Copyright & Fair Use

LibGuides

LibGuides are online research guides that can help students get started on a research assignment, or just help a person find information on a topic of interest. We continue to add to the list of available LibGuides and update preexisting guides,

LibGuides can also provide faculty with an opportunity to create a student research assignment outside the standard research paper.  Contact Eric A. Kidwell (ekidwell@huntingdon.edu) for further information.

If you would like to have a LibGuide created for a course, class or specific assignment, contact any member of the library faculty.

ePublications

Locate full-text journals, magazines and newspapers by title or subject.

Databases (Including the AVL)

How To Recommend Resources for the Library's Collections

Faculty can recommend items for the Library's collections using a variety of means:  publisher catalogues, reviews from journals in the field, suggestions from colleagues at other institutions, for example.  You may e-mail, hand deliver, or use campus mail to send us your requests.  If you need an item quickly please let us know and we'll do our best to place a "rush" on ordering and processing and let you know when the item has arrived and is available for use.  When submitting a request, please include as much of the bibliographic information as you can.  This will help us to ensure the correct item is ordered.  If you are requesting a book, please let us know the desired format - print or electronic.

One excellent source for independent reviews is the the Choice Reviews Online database. 

"Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and Choice Reviews Online for collection development and scholarly research. Choice reaches almost every undergraduate college and university library in the United States."

The link below will take you to the Choice database where you can create your own user account.  This will allow you to build lists of titles (in a variety of formats) and send your recommendations to the Library (using choicereviews@huntingdon.edu).  We have also included on this page a link to a document that provides instructions on how to effectively use Choice (the database also provides an excellent "Help" menu).

Faculty Development Collection

Located in Frank's Study (named after the Library's resident ghost), the Faculty Development Collection is a small collection of resources available to faculty that addresses the various aspects of serving as a college facuty member.    

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

Instruction (Information Literacy)

The link below will take you to our Library Instruction (Information Literarcy) page where you will find information on established standards (including some that are discipline specific), newer visual literacy standards, and what instruction services and opportunities are available through our library.

Interlibrary Loan

Here you will find information on faculty interlibrary loan services and the local academic library consortium that allows for reciprocal borrowing privileges between five (5) local college and university libraries:  Huntingdon, AUM, ASU, Faulkner, and Troy Montgomery.

NOTE:  Currently, the Library provides a (limited) budget to support the cost of faculty interlibrary loans.

Technology Available Through the Library

The link below will lead you to information on technology currently available through the Library.  Just as we welcome faculty recommendations for new resources for the library collections, faculty may also offer suggestions on technology that would be useful to faculty and students.  Such suggestions may be forwarded to the library director.