Skip to main content

Houghton Memorial Library (Huntingdon College) Web Site: Evening Studies

Library Welcome to Evening Studies

 

 

Orientation Document
Evening Bachelors Degree (EBD) Program  


Dear EBD Students, Faculty and Staff:

Welcome to Huntingdon College and Huntingdon's Houghton Memorial Library. The following information is intended to assist you in using our main campus library and the variety of print and electronic resources in our collections.

Getting a Library Card

To obtain a Huntingdon library card, EBD students, faculty and staff need to complete the online application form that can be found online by using this link: 

http://www.huntingdon.edu/evening/admission/library-card-application/

Once the completed online form is submitted to the Library, a user account will be established for the EBD student, faculty, or staff member. The new library account number will be e-mailed to you and the tangible library "card" (i.e. key fob) will be mailed along with this orientation document on resources and services of the Huntingdon College Library. It is very important to establish a library account as this will then allow you to have access to the Library's electronic databases, and of course physically check materials out of the Library, if applicable. (Please note that only those who have established a library account with the Huntingdon library will have remote access to our subscription electronic resources.)

Web Site

The Library's web site can be located by going to http://library.huntingdon.edu. From the College's main web site, you can find the Library by clicking on "Academics" on the main menu, then from the pull-down menu click on "Houghton Library."
Once you are at the Library's web site, you will see a number of search options, several of which are further explained below.

Countess OneSearch

The Library's online catalogue is called Countess OneSearch and from here you can search the depth and breadth of our holdings across all format types.  You can search for print and electronic books, articles from magazines, newspapers and journals; films, and a variety of other resources.  The majority of our databases are linked to Countess OneSearch, so while you may search our databases by clicking on the “Databases and the AVL” link under the Resources” tab on our web site, you can also do so directly in Countess OneSearch

(A bit of trivia:  Countess OneSearch is named in recognition of the College's namesake - Selina, the Countess of Huntingdon.) -

Electronic Databases

To locate the list of electronic databases provided by the Huntingdon library, place your pointer over the 'Resources' tab, then click on the 'Databases & the AVL' link. Here you will find an alphabetical listing of all the databases to which we currently subscribe.

As previously mentioned, to access most of our electronic resources, you will need to have an account with our library. Once you have established an account, you will be given a barcode number that acts as your library card number (this number will be listed on the back of the key fob that serves as your library card, which we will send to you). When trying to access a database or your library account, you will be asked for your library card number (enter this number from your card without any spaces) and password. The password must be set by you prior to accessing the databases.  The password will then be mailed to you.  Should you forget your password, it may be reset at any time in the same manner.  If you encounter problems contact Ms. Brenda Kerwin, Systems Librarian, at bkerwin@huntingdon.edu. (Please note that the Library's website is best navigated using either the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.)

Most electronic databases also provide very useful "Help" options to assist you in learning the effective use of a particular database. Vendors have worked closely with librarians in developing these help menus. You will also notice that many databases can assist you in properly citing sources. For example, in EbscoHost databases, once you have found an article you wish to use and cite, scroll over the icons on the page; one will be "cite this article." Clicking on this icon will take you to a screen that list how to cite the article using various citation styles.

While the majority of our databases can be searched in Countess OneSearch, a few, such as the Statistical Abstract of the U.S. and the ACI Scholarly Blog.  These databases can be found listed on the first page of the Library’s web site.

Alabama Virtual Library

Many of you may be familiar with the Alabama Virtual Library (AVL). If you are accustomed to having your own AVL card to access this collection of databases, we want to mention that as long as you are a student or faculty member at Huntingdon, you no longer need this personal access information - IF you access the AVL through our web site. When doing so, instead of clicking on "Home Access" you will click on the "Campus & Library" button. There are a number of business-related databases in the AVL. Among these are the highly recommended Business Source Premier produced by Ebsco and Gale's Business and Company Resource Center. Some of the AVL databases may be cross-listed on our library's database page.

LibGuides

LibGuides are online research guides that our library faculty and staff create to help students, faculty and staff more readily locate resources on a particular topic or for a stated class. You can access our library's LibGuides by clicking on the "LibGuides" tab on the library web site.  Of particular interest may be the “Citations” LibGuide, which can help you with properly citing sources.

Using Google

Google can be a legitimate tool for accessing information for academic work; however, we encourage students to focus on using Google Scholar and Google Book Search. One of the important features is that you will be linked to the nearest library that owns the resource you need and can direct you to additional resources related to your topic. You can find the links to Google Scholar and Google Book Search by going to Google (www.google.com) and clicking on the "More" button at the top of the screen. This will give you a menu, and you will see "Scholar" and "Books" among your choices.  You can also find search boxes for Google Scholar and Google Books listed on our web site and in many of our LibGuides.

Interlibrary Loan

As a member of the EBD of Huntingdon College you are able to use our interlibrary loan service. Since you are participating in an accelerated degree completion program, some aspects of the interlibrary loan service may not be suited to your needs, as it can take time to acquire a resource, particularly a physical item such as a book, from another library (for example, a request for a book from another academic library in Alabama can take a week to arrive; then we must have time to ship the book to the EBD user). Mrs. Nordis Smith, the library faculty member who oversees our interlibrary loan service, will be happy to assist you and answer your questions regarding interlibrary loan. nosmith@huntingdon.edu, (334) 833-4537.

Tutorials

On our library's web site you will find a tutorial that can assist you in learning how to effectively use library resources. You will find the link under the "Evening Studies" and “Services” tabs.  There are seven (7) modules in the tutorial to help you develop your research skills: research strategies, effective database searching, finding books, finding periodical articles, accessing government documents, evaluating information critically, and using the internet for research.  Additionally, you will find on our web site some helpful tutorials on the issue of plagiarism and the use of originality reports in Turnitin.com.  These can be found on the “Citations” LibGuide.

Plagiarism

The issue of plagiarism is very important in the academic community, perhaps even more so today with the heavy use of online resources. To assist faculty and students the Library subscribes to the Turnitin.com database, which can be found on the Library's web site. Turnitin.com provides a clear definition of what constitutes plagiarism. We encourage all our students to review it (you will also find helpful links on the “Citations” LibGuide). Any faculty who wish to establish an account with Turnitin should contact Ms. Brenda Kerwin, Systems Librarian, at bkerwin@huntingdon.edu, (334) 833-4529. 

What's New???

Our library uses a variety of means to communicate with our users.

The Library's Facebook page can be found by searching for "Huntingdon College Library" or by using the link on the first page of our web site.  We encourage students, faculty and staff to become fans of the Library's page. Here you will find news of changes in library policy and procedure, new library resources, notices of library events and observances, photographs related to the Library, interesting items and articles found on the Internet, etc.

The Library also has a presence on Twitter (HuntingdonColLibrary and #HuntingdonLib) and Pinterest (Frank the Library Ghost).  Links are provided on our web site.

Asking for "HELP!"

One of the first rules - if not the first rule - of using any library, whether you are physically in the facility or using it virtually, is that you should ask for help whenever you need it. We encourage you to do so. On the Library's website you will find a “Personnel” tab that will list contact information for the members of the library faculty and staff (as well as areas of responsibility).

Students, faculty and staff away from the main campus in Montgomery may most often need technical assistance accessing the website or gaining entry into one of the many databases offered. Ms. Brenda Kerwin, Systems Librarian, is the main contact for this type of help. Her e-mail address can also be found at several locations on our web site and is bkerwin@huntingdon.edu (or bkerwin@hawks.huntingdon.edu). She encourages students and faculty who e-mail her to include a telephone number where they can be reached. If necessary, she will call to help talk through the problem, or simply to confirm that the problem has been resolved.

Should you need assistance with a matter related to circulation (e.g. borrowing physical items from the Library's collections, questions about your library account, or general library-related questions), you can contact Ms. Paige Crumbley, Access Services Librarian, who will be happy to assist you. Her e-mail address is paige.crumbley@hawks.huntingdon.edu and her campus number is (334) 833-4422.

Welcome to Huntingdon College -

Eric A. Kidwell
Director of the Library/ Professor

 

FAQs - 2

How do I obtain a library card?

New Evening Studies students, faculty and staff should complete the online application form to establish a library account (see the link in the box on the left). Once your application is processed (usually within 24-48 hours), you will receive an e-mail with your library account information and instructions on logging into electronic resources. Shortly thereafter, you will receive in the mail your library card (key fob) along with more detailed instructions.

I've lost my library card! How do I replace it?

Contact Ms. Paige Crumbley, Access Services Librarian, at (334)833-4422 or email her at pcrumbley@hawks.huntingdon.edu.

As an Evening Studies student, faculty or staff member what library privileges do I have?

You have the same borrowing privileges as any other student, faculty or staff member at Huntingdon.

How do Evening Studies students, faculty and staff access the electronic databases from off campus?

Once you establish a library account, you may access the Library's electronic resources using Countess OneSearch (our WorldCat Local catalogue) or by going to the Library's homepage, placing your cursor on the Resource stab and clicking on Databases & the AVL. You'll be asked to login and will do so by using the bar code on the back of your library key fob (all numbers but no spaces) and the password you create. ?Your browser must be set to accept cookies in order to access the databases If you encounter problems, contact Ms. Brenda Kerwin, Systems Librarian, at bkerwin@huntingdon.edu.

What is Countess OneSearch?

Countess OneSearch is the name of our library's online catalogue, and is named after Selina, Countess of Huntingdon from whom the College took its new name in 1936, when it became co-educational.

(See A History of Huntingdon College, 1854-1954 by Rhoda Coleman Ellison, University of Alabama Press, 1954)

Which browser should I use to access the library's catalogue and databases?

We recommend you use the most current version of either Firefox or Internet Explorer. For your convenience, the college's tech team has a website for easy downloads of Firefox.

Who do I see about problems accessing the library website/electronic resources?

Mrs. Brenda Kerwin is the Systems Librarian and may be reached at (334)833-4529 or at bkerwin@huntingdon.edu.

How do I renew items online?

To renew items online go to Countess OneSearch and login to your library account (upper right of screen where it states, Sign in). In your library account you will see all items you currently have checked out. Check the box next to the item you plan to renew and press the request renewal button. This may only be done once and only if materials are not overdue. Additional renewals or renewals for items overdue must be handled in person (if you are enrolled in the EDP at a site outside of Montgomery, please contact Ms. Paige Crumbley, Access Services Librarian, for assistance).

What is an Inter Library Loan (ILL)?

Inter-library loaning is the process by which libraries, on behalf of a user (i.e. student,faculty member, staff member), can borrow materials from other libraries located in the U.S. or abroad. There are certain policies that must be followed and there may be a cost to the student, depending upon whether the lending library charges for the loan. This charge may be a loan fee for a book or the printing fee for a copy of a journal article.   Contact Mrs. Nordis Smith for further information and assistance at Ext. 4537 or nosmith@huntingdon.edu.

I found a citation for a book/article I'd like to read. How can I get a copy?

If the full-text is not available through our electronic holdings, you can contact Mrs. Nordis Smith, our librarian for Inter-Library Loan and Reference, at (334)833-4537 or nosmith@huntingdon.edu.

How much does an Inter Library Loan (ILL) cost?

There is no charge for ILL items obtained from most Alabama libraries. For students, costs for items obtained outside of Alabama vary and are dependent upon the lending library's policy. You should be prepared to tell Mrs. Smith how much you're willing to pay for an item when you make the ILL request.