Countess: Critical Thinking: Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Opposing Viewpoints
Related to the print series in our library's collections, "Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues... (and) features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites." An excellent source to use to learn of the pro-and-con issues surrounding a topic.
Issues & Controversies
Brought to you by Facts-on-File, this database is similar in nature to other pro/con resources listed on this guide; however, Issues & Controversies also offers a fine collection of editorial cartoons.
Pro & Con
"Congressional Digest has provided citizens, teachers and students with an impartial view of controversial issues.

Our careful research and balanced presentation of important debates before the Congress, the Supreme Court, and international bodies help you understand the issues and make up your own mind. "
Credo Reference
A good starting point for locating information on a topic.
Academic Search Premier (in EbscoHost)
"Academic Search Premier contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost."
Ethnic NewsWatch
This database accessed through ProQuest is an "interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990."

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Literature, Film and Communications Databases

Literature Resources (in Gale)
Gale is a leading publisher of reference resources in the area of literary studies. This database allows you to search for information on authors, literary genres, and critical analysis of particular literary works.
LION (Literature Online)
LION (Literature Online) is " ... a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 251 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources."
Communication & Mass Media Complete (in EbscoHost)
CMMC " ... provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media ... and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline."

History, Political Science and Military Science

CQ Electronic Library
CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Electronic Library provides access to CQ Researcher Online.
History Reference Center
From EbscoHost, "History Reference Center offers full text from more than 2,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for nearly 170 leading history periodicals, more than 112,000 historical documents, 113,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 112,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video."
Military & Government Collection
From EbscoHost, Military & Government Collection is "(d)esigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles."

Religion

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Found in EbscoHost, this database "combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with (this) online collection of major religion and theology journals." It includes over "555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals ..., more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews."
more...less...
ATLA comes to you from the American Theological Library Association.

Health and Medicine Databases

When looking for information on the Vietnam War era, you cannot ignore issues related to the psychological and medical affects of war on those who participate in combat as well as those on the civilian populations. Among the databases our library offers in the health and medical fields are:

APA PsycINFO
One of the EbscoHost databases, PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) is a resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. According to the APA it is "the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
more...less...
"It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in more than 27 languages."
APA PsycARTICLES
"PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 140,000 articles from over 60 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group."
Alt HealthWatch
"This (EbscoHost) database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. "
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
An EbscoHost database, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition "... provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines (and) also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names."
PubMed
"PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 19 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources."