- Access Science
"Welcome to McGraw-Hill's AccessScience 2.0 - a top-to-bottom redesign of the premiere online science platform, featuring fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition. The new generation of AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology. It's easier than ever to find what you're looking for and put it to use quickly."
- Alabama Mosaic *
AlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.
- Alabama Virtual Library *
About the AVL - (http://www.avl.lib.al.us/about/index.php)
The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research. Through the AVL, an equitable core of information sources is available to every student and citizen in Alabama, raising the level of excellence in schools and communities across the state.
- American Chemical Society Publications
A database providing access to publications of the American Chemical Society. Check the A-Z listing for individual titles.
"The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation."
"For its users—students, researchers, and unaffiliated individuals—BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation. Complementing this content is an agile new platform launched in January 2009 that allows for easy navigation to content both within and outside the BioOne aggregation, as well as researcher-designed toolbars with valuable title, article, and reference-linking tools."
- Birmingham Public Digital Collection *
B'ham Public Libraries's Digital Collections were created to preserve and make available the local history of Birmingham and the surrounding area. These resources may help students, teachers, genealogists, historians and interested citizens learn more about the history of Birmingham.
- Bowker Complete
Includes Books In Print and Fiction Connection/Non-Fiction Connection (reader's advisories).
- Choice Reviews
email requests to email@example.com
- Chronicle of Higher Education
- College Source
College Source is a collection of college and university catalogs.
- CQ Electronic Library
Includes: CQ Researcher
- Credo Reference
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are now 5303 journals in the directory. Currently 2226 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 442021 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
- Directory of Open Access Scholarly Journals in Education
ERGO is a project on the National Education Policy Center at the University of Colorado, Boulder. As a signatory to the Budapest Open Access Initiative, the ERGO is dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of open access ("free to read") scholarship in education. The Education Scholarship Global Observatory is directed by Gene V Glass and Gustavo E. Fischman.
Includes: Academic Search Premier (interdisciplinary), AHFS Consumer Medication Information, Alt HealthWatch (alternative medicine and wellness), ATLA Religion, Biography Reference Bank, Book Collection: Nonfiction, Business Source Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, eBook Collection, ERIC (education), GreenFIle (environment), Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Health Source-Consumer Edition and Health Source-Nursing/Academic Edition, History Reference Center, Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts, MAS Ultra - School Edition (high school), MasterFILE Premier (general audience interdisciplinary), Middle Search Plus (middle school), Military & Government Collection, MLS Directory of Periodicals, MLA International Bibliography, Newspaper Source, Primary Search (elementary school), Professional Development Collection (for educators), PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, SPORTDiscus, Teacher Reference Center, Vocational and Career Collection.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
- First Search (Worldcat)
Includes content from 12 databases: ArticleFirst (index of articles from the contents pages of journals), ClasePeriodica (index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities), Eco (collection of scholarly journals), ERIC (journal articles and reports in education), GPO (U.S. Government publications), MEDLINE (covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing), OAIster (a union catalog of digital resources), PapersFirst (index of papers presented at conference worldwide), Proceedings (index of worldwide conference proceedings), WorldAlmanac (Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia plus four almanacs), WorldCat (OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide), WorldCatDissertations (database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat),
- Gale Databases
Too many individual databases to list here (click on the link to see the full list), but in addition to Opposing Viewpoints, you'll find databases covering the areas of law, medicine, science, the culinary arts, Spanish-language resources, database for children at all school levels, databases for educators, literature, business, history, fine arts and music, agriculture, communication & mass media, gardening, home improvement, hospitality/tourism/leisure, vocations & careers, and interdisciplinary databases.
- Gale Literature Criticism Online
Gale literary references reach back 20 to 30 years—taken together as print, they could fill 230 feet of shelf space! But now, hundreds of volumes are digitized and ready to read with Literature Criticism Online. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It’s all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today’s researchers demand.
- Gale Literature Resource Center
The world’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database, Literature Resource Center is uniquely relevant to today’s researcher. Its rich critical, biographical and contextual content supports interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy and the development of critical-thinking skills.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
- Gale Literary Index
Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.
- Immigration in the United States, 1789 - 1930
Open Collection Program at Harvard University Library
- Internet Movie Database *
Includes reviews, biographies and movie trailers
- Issues & Controversies (Facts-on-File)
"Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture." A good resource for finding differing viewpoints on an issue.
- LION (Literature Online)
"Welcome to Literature Online, a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 356 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources."
- Movie Review Query Engine *
- Oxford English Dictionary Online
- PLOS One (Public Library of Science)
"PLOS ONE ... is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication. PLOS ONE welcomes reports on primary research from any scientific discipline. It provides:
Open-access—freely accessible online, authors retain copyright
Fast publication times
Peer review by expert, practicing researchers
Post-publication tools to indicate quality and impact
Community-based dialogue on articles
Worldwide media coverage
PLOS ONE is published by PLOS, a nonprofit organization.
PLOS ONE features reports of original research from all disciplines within science and medicine. By not excluding papers on the basis of subject area, PLOS ONE facilitates the discovery of the connections between papers whether within or between disciplines."
- Pro & Con Online
Archives of Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates.
Search 10 databases simultaneously including Ethic NewsWatch, ProQuest Newstand, Hoover's Company Profiles, and the electronic versions of several national newspapers: The Atlanta Journal & Constitution, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, USA Today, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
- PubMed *
U.S. National Library Medicine
- Read.gov (courtesy of the Library of Congress) *
Explore New Worlds. Read.
- Resources for College Libraries
"Welcome to Resources for College Libraries, the premier list of core print and electronic resources for academic libraries, featuring over 75,000 titles in 117 subjects.
Brought to you by ACRL ..., RCL covers the entire two-year and four-year college curriculum and provides a list of core titles that are essential for undergraduate study. Developed by an editorial team of more than 400 subject editors, bibliographers, and referees the RCL database content is continuously updated and now features improved functionality and a new improved user-friendly interface."
- Salem Press
Salem History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets. Purchasing printed reference delivers online access at no additional cost. Salem currently offers this service with four series of historical reference:
Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series (sets include Milestone Documents - American History, Milestone Documents - African American History, Milestone Documents - World History, Milestone Documents - American Leaders, Milestone Documents - World Religions ... all sets also available in print)
The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series
Great Lives from History - The definitive, worldwide biographical resource
Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society (also available in print)
- Springer Reference
SpringerReference.com is a platform for researchers and academic and corporate libraries. It offers living editions of Springer's eReferences well in advance of their print editions across every subject. Through the platform, authors can submit articles and updates to their articles whenever they deem necessary to keep up with the demand for the most recent scientific developments.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Turnitin helps teach students how to avoid plagiarism and improve their writing. How does it work? Professors establish "classes" within the Turnitin database, require students to submit their work, Turnitin then searches student writing for possible problem areas and issues a report back to the professor and student, which the professor and student can review and discuss how the student can improve his or her writing and learn how to avoid instances of plagiarism.
- Women Who Changed the World (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
- Women Working 1800-1930 *
Open Collection Program at Harvard University Library
- Worldcat (FirstSearch)