Skip to main content

Equipment for Loan and Gathering Spaces: Areas for Study, Reading and Gathering

This LibGuide provides you, a user of our library, information on equipment that may be loaned to members of the Huntingdon College campus and in addition, information on the various study, reading and gathering spaces our library has to offer.

Larger Group Spaces

Below is an overview of the group gathering spaces in the Library.  Where so designed, spaces may be reserved by contacting Mrs. Joel Godfrey.

The Atrium

The Atrium is the largest group gathering space in the Library.  Covered by a large two-story skylight, the Atrium includes four reading tables (seating a total of 24) and two sectional sofas (seating a total of 8).  The Library print newspaper collection is also housed in this space.  The Atrium is a frequent site for class meetings, film showing, study halls, and a variety of other campus gatherings.

copyright Huntingdon College

The Juvenile Collection Room

As the name indicates, this room houses the children's and young adult collection.  Upholstered chairs and couches are provided that will seat approximately 9.  In addition, a number of floor cushions give extra seating options. 

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

The Seminar/Conference Room

Located off the Atrium, this room will accommodate approximately 8 to 10.  The room provides two reading tables and a large (4'x8') mounted white board.  Members of the Huntingdon campus community may reserve this room by contacting Mrs. Joel Godfrey.

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

The Current Periodicals Area

This newest gathering space is located among the Library's collection of current magazines and journals on the second floor of the original library building.  It features lounge-style seating and is decorated with vintage-inspired travel posters reflecting just some of the countries and cities students and faculty have visited under the College's travel program.

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

The Reference Rooms

Located on the first floor of the original library building, the reference rooms are designated Quiet Zones.  On this floor, one will find the reference collection, the Alabama collection, the circulation and reference desks, and the Library's public computers.  The Library also uses this area to display some of the new resources received throughout the year.

copyright Huntingdon College

 

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

 

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

Individual & Small Group Spaces

The areas of the Library listed below have been designed for individual or small group (2 to 3 people) study, reading and general gathering.  Some of these areas may be reserved and are so designated.  To reserve an area contact Mrs. Joel Godfrey at jgodfrey@huntingdon.edu or stop by the administrative office in the Library to speak with her in person.

Kathryn's Study

Kathryn's Study is named in honor of Kathryn Tucker Windham, Huntingdon College alumna and internationally known author, photographer and storyteller.  Dedicated in April 2009, this room provides a place for quiet study, reading and reflection.  The Study is furnished with lamp lighting, a rocking chair, a plush wing back chair, a small table (that seats 2), toile curtains, plants, vintage curios, and a selection of books for pleasure reading and to aid studying.  There is also a "give-away" area with books and magazines for the taking.

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

copyright Su Ofe

Frank's Study

Frank's Study is named after the Library's resident ghost.  With a table that seats 6 and two wing back-style chairs, the room is designed for use by individuals looking for a more quiet study and reading space, or for small group gathering.  Shelved in this room is the Faculty Development Collection, which includes books on topics related to teaching and research. 

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

The Film Room

The Film Room is located off the Atrium.  Here you will find the Library's film (DVD and VHS) collection, as well as a few audio books and CDs that are particularly relative to Huntingdon (the Montgomery Public Library is the best source in town for audio books).  A table in this room will accommodate up to 6.  A cabinet contains equipment for watching films on DVD (equipment for watching VHS is generally kept in the Seminar/Conference Room).

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

The Bonner Study Room

This small study room, which will seat 3 to 4 maximum, is located next to the Seminar/Conference room on the first floor and down the hallway from the Atrium.  Members of the Huntingdon campus community may reserve this room by contacting Mrs. Joel Godfrey.

copyright Eric A. Kidwell

Study Carrels

Throughout several rooms in the Library you will find individual study carrels, specifically in the two large second floor stack rooms and in the second floor bound periodicals room.  There are 32 carrels in all dispersed among these rooms.

copyright Eric A. Kidwell




The Coffee Shop

The Coffee Shop (featuring Starbuck's products) is not operated by the Library, however, it is located in the basement of the Library.  Hours of operation for the Coffee Shop do not necessarily coincide with those of the Library, so you are encouraged to take note of posted hours in the Shop.  If you need information or have comments about The Coffee Shop, you may contact the college dining hall service (Aramark).  The Coffee Shop is equipped with a library security system to help remind folks to properly check-out from the circulation desk any library materials they wish to borrow.

copyright Eric A. Kidwell