Countess: Perrin English 104: Alfred Hitchcock

Alfred Hitchcock (1899-1980)

Films

Below you will find a selection of titles in our film collection of Hitchcock's work. Check Countess (online catalogue) for other film titles.

Alfred Hitchcock Presents: season one by Alfred Hitchcock; Universal Studios Home Entertainment
Call Number: AV 791.45 Alf2005
ISBN: 9780783270791
Alfred Hitchcock presents : Volume 2 by Alfred Hitchcock; Joan Harrison; Samuel Blas; Louis Pollock; John Collier; et al.
Call Number: AV 791.43 alf1959
Alfred Hitchcock presents : Volume 3 by Alfred Hitchcock; Joan Harrison; Roald Dahl; Ben Ray Redman; F J Smith; et al.
Call Number: AV 791.43 alf1959
ISBN: 0783252544
Alfred Hitchcock presents. / Season four by Alfred Hitchcock; Steve McQueen; Bette Davis; Claude Rains; Cloris Leachman, et al.
Call Number: AV 791.45 Alf2009
Alfred Hitchcock's Rear window by Alfred Hitchcock; John Michael Hayes; James Stewart; Grace, Princess of Monaco; Wendell Corey
Call Number: AV 791.43 rea1954
ISBN: 0783237391
Alfred Hitchcock's Rope by Alfred Hitchcock; James Stewart; Farley Granger; John Dall; Patrick Hamilton
Call Number: AV 791.43 rop1948
ISBN: 9780783254661
Alfred Hitchcock's Shadow of a doubt by Alfred Hitchcock; Jack H Skirball; Thornton Wilder; Sally Benson; Alma Reville
Call Number: AV 791.43 sha1942
The Birds by Evan Hunter; Alfred Hitchcock; Rod Taylor; Jessica Tandy; Suzanne Pleshette; Tippi Hedren
Call Number: AV 791.43 bir1963
ISBN: 9780783240237
Jamaica Inn by Alfred Hitchcock; Erich Pommer; Sidney Gilliat; Joan Harrison; Eric Fenby
Call Number: AV 791.43 jam1939
The Lady vanishes by Alfred Hitchcock; Edward Black; Sidney Gilliat; Frank Launder; Margaret Lockwood
Call Number: AV 791.4372 lad1999
North by northwest by Alfred Hitchcock; Cary Grant; Eva Marie Saint; James Mason; Martin Landau
Call Number: AV 791.43 nor2004
ISBN: 9780790799933
Saboteur by Alfred Hitchcock; Priscilla Lane; Robert Cummings; Dorothy Parker; Peter Viertel
Call Number: AV 791.43 sab1942
ISBN: 9780783254654
Strangers on a train by Alfred Hitchcock; Farley Granger; Ruth Roman; Robert Walker; Patricia Highsmith
Call Number: AV 791.43 STR1997
ISBN: 9780790731025
Torn curtain by Alfred Hitchcock; Brian Moore; Paul Newman; Julie Andrews; John Addison
Call Number: AV 791.43 tor1966
ISBN: 9780783254715
Vertigo by Alfred Hitchcock; Alec Coppel; Samuel Taylor; James Stewart; Kim Novak
Call Number: AV 791.43 ver1958
ISBN: 0783226055

Hitchcock Interview - 1973 (Part 1 of 6)

Originally broadcast as one of the first Tomorrow Shows with Tom Snyder in the Fall of 1973.

Books - Circulating Collection

Alfred Hitchcock : centenary essays by Richard Allen; S Ishii-Gonzalès
Call Number: 791.430233092 A392A4 1999
Alfred Hitchcock and the making of Psycho by Stephen Rebello
Call Number: 791.4302330924 H674R2 , 1990
ISBN: 0942637143
Publication Date: 1990-03-01
The Dark Side of Genius: the life of Alfred Hitchcock by Donald Spoto
Call Number: 791.430233092 H674S7 , 1999
ISBN: 9780306809323
Publication Date: 1999-08-30
An eye for Hitchcock by Murray Pomerance
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2004
Hitchcock and Twentieth-Century Cinema by John Orr
Call Number: 791.430233092 H674O7 , 2005
ISBN: 1904764568
Publication Date: 2006-03-10
Hitchcock on Hitchcock : selected writings and interviews by Alfred Hitchcock; Sidney Gottlieb
Call Number: e-book
Hitchcock's America by Jonathan Freedman (Editor); Richard H. Millington (Editor)
Call Number: 791.430233092 H674F8 , 1999
Publication Date: 1999-02-25
Hitchcock's Rear window : the well-made film by John Wesley Fawell; Alfred Hitchcock
Call Number: 791.4372 F279h , 2001
ISBN: 9780809324002
Hitchcock, the first forty-four films by Eric Rohmer; Claude Chabrol; Stanley Hochman (Translator)
Call Number: 791.430233 H674R7
ISBN: 0804427437
Publication Date: 1979-03-01
Hitchcock: [the definitive study of Alfred Hitchcock] by Francois Truffaut; Helen G. Scott
Call Number: 791.4302330924 T866c , 1984
ISBN: 0671526014
Publication Date: 1984-11-01
Hollywood's Dark Cinema: the American film noir by R. Barton Palmer
Call Number: 791.43655 P175h 1994
ISBN: 9780805793352
Publication Date: 1994-03-01
The Moment of Psycho: how Alfred Hitchcock taught America to love murder by David Thomson
Call Number: 791.4372 T482m , 2009
ISBN: 0465003397
Publication Date: 2009-11-24
Screening the Sacred: religion, myth, and ideology in popular American film by Joel W. Martin (Editor); Conrad E. Ostwalt (Editor)
Call Number: 791.43682 S433M3 , 1995
ISBN: 9780813388304
Publication Date: 1995-04-09
The Women Who Knew Too Much: Hitchcock and feminist theory by Tania Modleski
Call Number: 791.430233 M692w
ISBN: 0416017118
Publication Date: 1987-12-01

Web Sites

Alfred Hitchcock Scholars'/"The MacGuffin" web page
"The MacGuffin" Webpage ... is an extension of (the) Alfred Hitchcock journal called 'The MacGuffin', which is indexed by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) in Brussels, and by 'Film Literature Index', New York.
Alfred Hitchcock: The Master of Suspense
A collection of biographical, summary and critical sources.
Alfred Hitchcock's WW II French Films and the Limits of Propaganda
This site offers an analysis of Hitchcock's propaganda films from the site of Images Journal.
Film Resources on the Web (Duke University)
MysteryNet
"Here you'll find in-depth profiles, articles and little-known facts about the revered Master of Suspense."
Alfred Hitchcock: The Official Website
This site is currently under construction.
Alfred Hitchcock Wiki
Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine
This site delivers short stories, book reviews and other features in a monthly magazine format.
Alfred Hitchcock Online
An interesting Dutch/English bilingual site.
The Definitive Alfred Hitchcock Resource
Part of the HitchcockOnline site; here you will find links to Hitchcock pages online, the 1999 Hitchcock centennial, video links, and other Hitchcock online resources.

Hitchcock Centennial

The Definitive Alfred Hitchcock Resource
Part of the HitchcockOnline site; you will find a collection of links to centennial sites; a few of which are listed individually below.
Celebrating 100 Years of Suspense
From The New York Times' article 'Is That Ticking (Pause) a Bomb?', Peter Bogdanovich uses the occasion of the Museum of Modern Art's Alfred Hitchcock retrospective to reflect on Hitchcock's life and work.
Museum of Modern Art: Alfred Hitchcock
On the occasion of the Hitchcock centennial, the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) mounted an exhibit in 1999 to examine the filmmaker's work and legacy.

Reference Collection

Contemporary literary criticism
CLC provides criticism of works of authors who are now living or who died after 1999. Volumes in the series published between 1973-1999 include coverage of authors who died after 1959. See v.16 for Hitchcock.
International Dictionary of Film and Filmmakers by Nicolet V Elert; Aruna Vasudevan; Leanda Shrimpton
Call Number: R 791.4303 I61d
Publication Date: 1997
An earlier edition, but still useful for research on Hitchcock.
Magill's Survey of Cinema, English Language Films, First Series by Frank N. Magill (Editor)
Call Number: R 791.4375 M194m 1980
ISBN: 0893562254
Publication Date: 1980-06-01
Magill's Survey of Cinema, English Language Films, Second Series by Frank N. Magill (Editor)
Call Number: R 791.4375 M194s 1981
ISBN: 0893562300
Publication Date: 1981-01-01
Selected Film Criticism, 1896-1911 by Anthony Slide
Call Number: R 791.4375 S464S6
ISBN: 0810815753
Publication Date: 1982-01-01
Set includes volumes:
[1] 1896-1911 --
[2] 1912-1920 --
[3] 1921-1930 --
[4] 1931-1940 --
[5] 1941-1950 --
[6] Foreign films, 1930-1950 --
[7] 1951-1960.

Articles

This is a very selective list of articles to be found on Hitchcock and his work. Additional articles may be found by searching Countess OneSearch (online catalogue) and our databases.

Alfred Hitchcock by Ken Mogg
Publication Date: Senses of Cinema; Issue 36
Alfred Hitchcock and the Art of Research by Jonathan Kirshner
Publication Date: PS, political science & politics. 29, no. 3, (1996): 511
Alfred Hitchcock Presents Class Struggle by M Nicholson
Publication Date: MONTHLY REVIEW -NEW YORK- 63, no. 7, (2011): 33-50
Alfred Hitchcock: A Life in Darkness and Light by R S Brown
Publication Date: Cineaste. 29, Part 4 (2004): 62
Alfred Hitchcock: Is he overrated or underrated? by Raphael F.
Publication Date: Commentary, v127 n5 (2009 05 01)
Gender Politics and the Gothic in Alfred Hitchcock's Rebecca by K Wheatley
Publication Date: GOTHIC STUDIES, 4, no. 2, (2002): 133-144
A Hitch in time - Jonathan Romney conslders our obsession with Alfred Hitchcock, as evidenced in the work of contemporary artists by Jonathan Romney
Publication Date: New Statesman. (July 19, 1999): 35
Hitchcock and Race: Is the Wrong Man a White Man? by Jonathan J Cavallero
Publication Date: Journal of Film and Video, 62, no. 4 (2010): 3-14
Personality, Pathology, and The Act of Creation: The Case of Alfred Hitchcock by Stanton Peele
Publication Date: Biography, 9, no. 3 (1986): 202-218
The Savage Audience: Looking At Hitchcock's The Birds by Leslie H Abramson
Publication Date: Film & History: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Film and Television Studies, 41, no. 2 (2011): 19-28
"She Makes Love for the Papers": Love, Sex, and Exploitation in Hitchcock's Mata Hari Films by Nora Gilbert
Publication Date: Film & History: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Film and Television Studies, 41, no. 2 (2011): 6-18
The Trouble With Alfred Hitchcock by T Teachout
Publication Date: COMMENTARY -NEW YORK- AMERICAN JEWISH COMMITTEE- 127, no. 2, (2009): 43-45