Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Advertising and Consumerism: Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Database Links

NOTE: If you experience problems with the database links within the LibGuide, you can access databases through the Library's main web site using the "Databases" page found at http://library.huntingdon.edu/databases.htm.

Business and Allied Fields Databases

Other Discipline-specific Databases

When conducting research on advertising, consumerism, or the broader topic of marketing, keep in mind the particular focus of your work as you look for your resources.  If, for example, you are focusing primarily on the psychological affects of advertising, you should include resources in the field of psychology in your research (for databases, you would want to consider searching PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES).  Perhaps, though, your specific topic is an examination of how advertising is used in sports, or religion, or in the health and medical fields.  If so, then SPORTDiscus, ATLA Religion Database, and databases the cover the health and medical fields (such as Alt HealthWatch, Health Source and PubMed), respectively, would be useful to you.  Doing research in how being “green” is being marketed?  Then a database such as EbscoHost’s GreenFILE would be worth a search.  Researching an issue related to law and advertising (such as legal regulations in alcohol advertising or advertising to children)?  LegalTrac would be an excellent place to start.  And a focus on issues of ethnicity would encourage a use of Ethnic NewsWatch (linked in the “Interdisciplinary” database box on this page).

Communication Studies and Film Databases

 

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search