Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals & Magazines
Ameircan Scholar is a quarterly magazine dedicated to current events, politics, history, science, culture and the arts and is published by the Phi Beta Kappa Society, It can be found full-text in our databases back to December 1974, and we have the title in print as both a current subscription and bound to volume 1 (1932).
Atlantic Monthly can be found full-text in our databases going back to January 1, 1983. We also carry this title in print and have back issues to volume 1 (1857).
The Chronicle of HIgher Education
The Chronicle is available full-text through our Library's web site.
"Once a month, this 36-page flagship publication highlights competing views on current affairs - subjects like Civil Liberties, the Iraq War, and Media Shield Laws, to name a few." This title is covered in our databases from 02/01/1922 to present, and we carry it in print.
Free Inquiry is published by the Council for Secular Humanism. This title is covered full-text in our databases only fro 03/01/1993 to 08/01/2004; however, our Library does provide the print version of current issues.
"Harper's Magazine, the oldest general interest monthly in America, explores the issues that drive our national conversation through such celebrated features as Readings, Annotation, and Findings, as well as the iconic Harper's Index. With its emphasis on fine writing and original thought Harper's Magazine provides readers with a unique perspective on politics, society, the environment, and culture." Full-text can be found in our databases back to 1992; we own in print back to volume 1, 1850.
A publication of the Association of American Colleges and Universities, Liberal Education can be found full-text in our databases from January 1, 1990 to the present. Our library also carries a print subscription to this title and has bound volumes back to volume 45, 1959.
Mental Floss Magazine considers itself "... an intelligent read, but not too intelligent. We're the sort of intelligent that you hang out with for a while, enjoy our company, laugh a little, smile a lot and then we part ways. Great times." It claims to feature stories to make you smile, feed your right brian and nurture your left brain, indulge your scattered brain, and learn to spin the globe.
"The Society for the Study of Myth and Tradition is a not-for-profit organization devoted to the dissemination and exploration of materials relating to the myths, symbols, rituals, and art of the world's religious and cultural traditions. To this end, the Society is the publisher of Parabola Magazine." We carry a print subscription to Parabola (bound since volume 1), but there is not full-text coverage in our current databases.
Is "the official journal of the Committee for Skeptical Inquiry. Six times per year Skeptical Inquirer publishes critical scientific evaluations of paranormal and fringe-science claims and informed discussion of all relevant issues. In addition to news, articles, book reviews, and investigations on a wide variety of topics ..." This title is available through several of our library's databases ... check Serials Solutions.
The Utne Reader is a digest "... ndependent ideas and alternative culture. Not right, not left, but forward thinking. We're most interested in creating a conversation about everything from the environment to the economy, politics to pop culture. For more than 20 years, Utne has functioned as a guide to the alternative and independent press" pulling articles from publications that one will not easily find at the average newsstand or bookstore.
Vital Issues: the Journal of African-American Speeches
"The sole mission of this journal is to preserve the oratorical record of African-Americans. It presents major speeches of African American professional leaders so that their spirit and voices may be preserved for generations to come." Our library subscribes to the print. This title is not covered full-text by our current databases.
Vital Speeches of the Day
It is available full-text in our databases from October, 1934 to the present.
Washington Monthly states that it is " ... an independent voice, listened to by insiders and willing to take on sacred cows--liberal and conservative ... (and) ferrets out the important stories you won't find elsewhere--on politics, government, and culture, by some of the brightest writers and commentators ..." Available in full-text through our databases to July 1985.