Mardi Gras: Laissez Les Bons Temps Rouler!: Databases
Welcome to the Mardi Gras LibGuide. While this guide will provide you with a number of information sources for your enjoyment of Mardi Gras, as celebrated both in New Orleans and Mobile, it can also lead you to more scholarly resources on the topic.
Research on Mardi Gras can take you down many different
paths.Here are listed some of the
discipline-specific database we have that can provide a particular perspective
on the holiday, or help you find relevant literary information.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
If you think about it, Mardi Gras does have direct religious connections, so our library's religion databases can be good sources for relevant information.
An EbscoHost database, "Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier ... (provides) coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics."
CMMC " ... provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media ... and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline."
Ethnic NewsWatchThis link opens in a new windowEthnic and minority publications - journal articles. Subject Area(s): History , The Arts , News & Newspapers , Social Sciences , Literature & Language
Interested in literary works on Mardi Gras, or perhaps the culture of New Orleans and Mobile? LION is a "fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 265 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources."
This site includes a number of literature resources published by Gale, including those that provide information on individual authors, genres of literature, and literary criticism.
For reviews of THE ORDER OF MYTHS documentary, or other films that might have a relation to Mardi Gras, or simply the culture of New Orleans and Mobile.
Another EbscoHost database, Regional Business News "provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications ... and incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States."
The King Cake
"The King Cake tradition came to New Orleans with the first French settlers and has stayed ever since. Like the rest of Mardi Gras during those early days, the king cake was a part of the family's celebration, and really didn't take on a public role until after the Civil War. In 1870, the Twelfth Night Revelers held their ball, with a large king cake as the main attraction. Instead of choosing a sacred king to be sacrificed, the TNR used the bean in the cake to choose the queen of the ball. This tradition has carried on to this day, although the TNR now use a wooden replica of a large king cake. The ladies of the court pull open little drawers in the cake's lower layer which contain the silver and gold beans. Silver means you're on the court; gold is for the queen.”fromhttp://www.gumbopages.com/food/
dessert/king-cake.html (Also includes Chef Emeril Lagasse’s King Cake recipe, with the admonition that a King Cake CANNOT be made and served before Twelfth Night, January 6, or after Mardi Gras day.)
This link opens in a new window
"The King Cake tradition came to 