It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost."
This database accessed through ProQuest is an "interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990."
GenderWatchThis is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Related to the print series in our library's collections, "Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues... (and) features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites."
Consider this ...
When conducting research in the area of film studies it is
important to keep in mind that valuable information may be found in discipline-specific
resources, so the researcher should consider carefully the focus of his or her
research topic.If using the film WallStreet
in your research, for example, you should strongly consider searching the
business literature to discover how the business world reacted to the
film.Perhaps the film you are using has
a decided psychological aspect to it, or a religious aspect.If so, then it would be useful to search the
psychology or religion literature.Is
your film based upon a previously created work, such as a novel, play, work of
non-fiction?If so, then finding
criticism of the original work could be helpful.Does your film include an artistic work as an
integral part of the plot?Again, if so,
finding information on that work, and perhaps also on how professionals in that
field reacted to the use of the work in the film, would help you complete a
strong research assignment.
"The Film Analysis Guide was developed to meet the needs of faculty and students at Yale who are interested in becoming familiar with the vocabulary of film studies and the techniques of cinema. The user can either read the complete document or search out a particular topic of interest. -- Related links within the Guide are provided as appropriate, as are links to film clips illustrating the topic or term in question."
IMDB includes " ... complete cast and crew lists, production details, and technical information, as well as box office information and trivia. The homepage contains movie news, daily polls and quotes, and information on new releases. The site is an affiliate of Amazon.com, so titles are linked to purchase information and ads are included."
An excellent source for movie reviews covering the history of the film industry and all genres. Links to reviews include those found in newspapers, popular magazines and the more scholarly publications.
These resources are from “Film Resources on the Web: An
Introduction” by Julie Flanders, Technical
Services librarian at the College of Mount St. Joseph, C&RL News, September 2005 (Vol. 66, No.8).
"he largest collection of scripts on the Web, this site allows users to search for scripts by title or genre, and scripts can be read or downloaded for free. The site also includes links to screenwriting resources, movie reviews, and general movie sites arranged by genre."
"Updated regularly, this site has links to several hundred free, downloadable movie scripts, including those that are current, classic, and soon-to-be-released. An excellent resource for potential screenwriters, the site provides how-to resources for writers, as well as practical information, such as the importance of protecting work through copyright. The site also includes a message board, where users can discuss and critique each other’s work."
Here are listed just a few of the discipline-specific databases to which our library subscribes. You can find others by reviewing our library's "Database" page on our web site or by using the "Databases" LibGuide.
Found in EbscoHost, this database "combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with (this) online collection of major religion and theology journals." It includes over "555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals ..., more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews."
An EbscoHost database, "Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier ... (provides) coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics."
CMMC " ... provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media ... and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline."
One of the EbscoHost databases, PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) is a resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. According to the APA it is "the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
"It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in more than 27 languages."
"History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video."
"MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text."