A reader-friendly edition of the General Prologue and sixteen tales and Troilus & Criseyde. Put into modern spelling by Michael Murphy. Courtesy of Brooklyn College.
From the University of Alberta, Canada, an extensive bibliography that covers Chaucer's historical, social, and philosophical background as well as a wide range of literary studies organized by theme.
NB: Not all of these titles are held by our library. Please check with Mrs. Nordis Smith (ext. 4560) at the Reference Desk to obtain a title through Inter Library Loan.
Courtesy of Prof. Larry Benson (editor of The Riverside Chaucer) and his colleagues at Harvard. Materials include historical and cultural background, introductions to all Chaucer's works, and summaries or English translations of many of the sources and analogues of stories in The Canterbury Tales.
The Essential Chaucer is a selective, annotated bibliography of Chaucer studies from 1900-1984. It was first published in 1987 by G. K. Hall and Mansell Publishers Limited. The bibliography is divided into almost 90 topics, including themes, techniques, and individual works by Chaucer.
A compilation of medieval recipes from authentic sources adapted for the 21st century kitchen, along with diverse facts on food & feasting in the Middle Ages & Renaissance and other historical culinary items.
James L. Matterer has an academic background in both culinary arts and history. He has been researching and recreating medieval food since 1979 and has presented dozens of authentic feasts, the largest being for over 300 people. A member of the Society for Creative Anachronism, In
Luminarium is created by Anniina Jokinen. The site is not affiliated with any institution nor is it sponsored by anyone other than its maintainer and the contributions of its visitors through revenues from book sales via Amazon.com, poster sales via All Posters, and advertising via Google AdSense.
A companion to The Canterbury Tales, a compendium of links, literary, biographical, bibliographical and pedagogical. The site is created and maintained by Dr. Dan Kline of the University of Alaska at Anchorage.
"[A] searchable online literature for the student, educator, or enthusiast. To find the work you're looking for start by looking through the author index. [There are] currently over 1900 full books and over 3000 short stories and poems by over 250 authors. [The] quotations database has over 8500 quotes."
The World of Dante is sponsored by the Institute for Advanced Technologies in the Humanities, University of Virginia and funded in part by: an IATH Research Fellowship; The National Endowment for the Humanities; the Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation; and a grant from the National Italian American Foundation.
Borrowing from our film collection is
restricted to Huntingdon students, faculty and staff.When searching for films in Countess, the
online catalogue, you can limit your search results to only films by clicking on “Videos” in
the “Limit To:” box.
