U.S. Constitution Day: Databases

Related to the print series in our library's collections, "Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues... (and) features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites." An excellent source to use to learn of the pro-and-con issues surrounding a topic.

"Congressional Digest has provided citizens, teachers and students with an impartial view of controversial issues.

Our careful research and balanced presentation of important debates before the Congress, the Supreme Court, and international bodies help you understand the issues and make up your own mind. "

Brought to you by Facts-on-File, this database is similar in nature to other pro/con resources listed on this guide; however, Issues & Controversies also offers a fine collection of editorial cartoons.

Found in EbscoHost, this database "combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with (this) online collection of major religion and theology journals." It includes over "555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals ..., more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews."

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Electronic Library provides access to CQ Researcher Online.

From EbscoHost, "History Reference Center offers full text from more than 2,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for nearly 170 leading history periodicals, more than 112,000 historical documents, 113,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 112,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video."

From EbscoHost, Military & Government Collection is "(d)esigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles."

Gale is a leading publisher of reference resources in the area of literary studies. This database allows you to search for information on authors, literary genres, and critical analysis of particular literary works.

"Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, ... (this database) dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers ..."

LION (Literature Online) is " ... a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 251 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources."

CMMC " ... provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media ... and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline."

"Academic Search Premier contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost."

This database accessed through ProQuest is an "interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990."

This reference database contains over 58,000,000 articles from 1980 to the present with 25-years of backfiles. Coverage includes Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service Newspaper articles, The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, children's magazines, over 20 reference books, and over 4,500 titles including 3,500 in full text.

"Congressional Digest has provided citizens, teachers and students with an impartial view of controversial issues.

Our careful research and balanced presentation of important debates before the Congress, the Supreme Court, and international bodies help you understand the issues and make up your own mind. "