Countess: Women's Studies: Databases

Viewpoint Databases

Opposing Viewpoints
Related to the print series in our library's collections, "Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues... (and) features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites." An excellent source to use to learn of the pro-and-con issues surrounding a topic.
Pro & Con
"Congressional Digest has provided citizens, teachers and students with an impartial view of controversial issues.

Our careful research and balanced presentation of important debates before the Congress, the Supreme Court, and international bodies help you understand the issues and make up your own mind. "
Issues & Controversies
Brought to you by Facts-on-File, this database is similar in nature to other pro/con resources listed on this guide; however, Issues & Controversies also offers a fine collection of editorial cartoons.

Using Our Databases:

When searching our databases for articles, chapters from ebooks, etc. in the area of Women’s Studies, keep in mind that in addition to the interdisciplinary and point-of-view databases listed on this page, there may be more discipline-specific databases worth searching. For example, if researching women and sports, you should include SPORTDiscus (EbscoHost) in your search. Women and psychology? Include PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES (also in EbscoHost). Women in business? Try searching in Business Source Premier (EbscoHost). You get the idea. And both Newspaper Source (EbscoHost) and Newsstand (ProQuest) are excellent databases that include coverage from international newspapers to U.S. regional papers.

Open Access

Women Working, 1800 - 1930 (Harvard University)
"Women Working is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University. The collection features approximately 650,000 digitized pages and nearly 1,500 images."

Interdisciplinary Databases

Ethnic NewsWatch
This database accessed through ProQuest is an "interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990."
Academic Search Premier (in EbscoHost)
"Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost."

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window
The archive covers primarily the 19th and 20th centuries and incorporates a range of primary sources, providing a close look at some of the pioneers of women’s history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society.

Women's Studies: Databases

Viewpoint Databases

Using Our Databases:

Open Access

Interdisciplinary Databases

First Female Presidential Candidate of a Major Party