Countess: Uncle Tom's Cabin and Popular Culture: Databases

Hariett Beecher Stowe

Religion and History

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Found in EbscoHost, this database "combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with (this) online collection of major religion and theology journals." It includes over "555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals ..., more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews."
more...less...
ATLA comes to you from the American Theological Library Association.
History Reference Center
From EbscoHost, "History Reference Center offers full text from more than 2,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for nearly 170 leading history periodicals, more than 112,000 historical documents, 113,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 112,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video."

Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
This database contains:
-5.4 million cross-searchable pages: 12049 books, 170 serials, 71 manuscript collections, 377 supreme court records and briefs and 194 reference articles from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias.
-Links to websites, biographies, chronology, bibliographies, and information on key collections, to give users background and context for further research.
-Collections published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, the Bibliothèque nationale de France, the British Library, the National Archives in Kew, Oberlin College, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and many other institutions.

Milestone Documents in African-American History

A Word About Databases:

Discussion and analysis of works of literature frequently occur in the books, journals, etc. of other fields. For example. Charlotte Gilman's famous short story "The Yellow Wallpaper" has been greatly discussed in the psychology literature. So, when studying a work of literature, consider this possibility and don't limit your use of resources, for instance, databases, to only those that are frequently considered "English" or "literature" sources. The list of suggested databases provided on this page is not meant to be exhaustive, but rather to give you a start - an idea - of the range of possible resources available to you for conducting research on Uncle Tom's Cabin.

Literature and Film

MLA International Bibliography (in EbscoHost)
"Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, ... (this database) dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers ..."
LION (Literature Online)
LION (Literature Online) is " ... a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 251 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources."
Literature Resources (in Gale)
Gale is a leading publisher of reference resources in the area of literary studies. This database allows you to search for information on authors, literary genres, and critical analysis of particular literary works.
Movie Review Query Engine
An excellent source for movie reviews covering the history of the film industry and all genres. Links to reviews include those found in newspapers, popular magazines and the more scholarly publications.
Internet Movie Database
"he largest collection of scripts on the Web, this site allows users to search for scripts by title or genre, and scripts can be read or downloaded for free. The site also includes links to screenwriting resources, movie reviews, and general movie sites arranged by genre."

Communication Studies, Psychology, and Business Administration

Communication & Mass Media Complete (in EbscoHost)
CMMC " ... provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media ... and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline."
Business Source Premier
An EbscoHost database, "Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier ... (provides) coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics."
APA PsycINFO
From the American Psychological Association’s (APA), this "... renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s ... Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals ..."

PsycARTICLES (APA) This link opens in a new window
APA PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Ethnic NewsWatch
This database accessed through ProQuest is an "interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990."
Academic Search Premier
"Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost."