Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Harper Lee: Special Collections

A Word About Special Collections

Huntingdon College's Special Collection is housed in the Archives area of the Library.  Special Collections encompasses a wide range of resources.  Due to security and perservation considerations, materials in Special Collections cannot be borrowed and must be used in the Archives area.  Contact the staff of the Archives for assistance.

Harper Lee Archives & Special Collections

Nelle Harper Lee attended Huntingdon College before transferring to the University of Alabama.  While a student at Huntingdon, Ms. Lee wrote for several of the College’s student publications.  These writings, in addition to copies of articles and correspondence related to the publication of To Kill a Mockingbird and the making of the film, can be viewed in our Archives & Special Collections department.  Here, you will also find papers related to the publication of Charles Shields' biography of Harper Lee,  Mockingbird: A Portrait of Harper Lee (2006), as well as other material related to Ms. Lee’s life.

Security and preservation considerations require that materials not be removed from the Archives & Special Collections area.  To make use of these resources, please contact the archives staff.  The Archives & Special Collections is, in general, accessible Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

To Kill a Mockingbird (film)

Gregory Peck with Harper Lee