Countess: Montgomery Higher Education Consortium (MHEC): Alabama State University

About Us

Telephone Contacts:

Library: (334) 229-4106

Information Desk: (334) 604-9093

Archives/Special Collections: (334) 229-6827

National Center: (334) 229-4876

Mailing Address:

Levi Watkins Learning Center, Alabama State University, 915 South Jackson Street
Montgomery, AL 36104-5714

ASU Library
Library Hours
Library Personnel
Directions & Parking
"Off campus visitors are responsible for obtaining a parking pass for persons attending an event/activity/meeting at the LWLC."

Library Policies for MHEC Users

Members of the Montgomery Higher Education Consortium (MHEC) may borrow up to five (5) items at a time from the ASU library. Items must be returned to the ASU library.

Remember, that before visiting us, you will need to stop by the circulation desk at your "home" library to get a gold consortium sticker for your college/university ID.

Database Access: MHEC users visiting ASU's library may access the public computers and databases on-site.

Printing and photocopying:

Printing costs $.10 a page.
To print from the internet (databases, websites, etc.) users need to buy a print card.
Print cards can be purchased for $1.00 on the first floor. Users must have a $1.00 bill to initially purchase the card.
Once the card is purchased users may add cash to it at any time.
Scanning is available at no charge.
Scanners are available on the 1st and 3rd floors.

Online Catalog and Digital Library

HORNet Cat - Online Catalog
The ASU Library uses the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System. If you are unfamiliar with the LC system, ask a librarian for help.
Digital Library
"Alabama State University has created a digital library to highlight its photographic and archival collection, representing items contained in personal and family papers, organizational records, and other manuscript collections acquired by Alabama State University. The images featured on this web site strongly reflect the history of Alabama State University, the modern civil rights movement, and the Black experience in central Alabama. They have been selected to allow the public an opportunity to glimpse the rich visual materials housed in the Archives at the Levi Watkins Learning and Resource Center, Alabama State University "

Research Assistance

Need help with research?
Research assistance is available at the Information Desk on the 1st floor of the Library or by calling (334) 604-9093. Use the link above for ASU Library's 'Make an Appointment" or click the link below for our email reference service. Both services provide help with simple, factual questions or with questions about library services and resources.
LWLC LibAnswers

LibGuides (Research Guides) & Subject Guides

ASU Library LibGuides

Archives & Special Collections

What will I find in the ASU Archvies & Special Collections?
"The primary focus of Alabama State University Archives is to identify and acquire, organize and preserve collections, particularly primary source materials that document the history and the internal operations of Alabama State University. The Archives will collect material that sheds light on how the school influenced African Americans in Montgomery, in Alabama, around the southeast, and throughout the nation. It is also the goal of the Archives to develop and catalog a collection that will preserve and make accessible for study, materials relating to the people, aims, strategies, and achievements of the modern civil rights movement, paying particular attention to those areas where civil rights activism intersects the history of Alabama State University, and in those instances where material connects the local movement to wider civil rights initiatives. Finally, the Alabama State University Archives will collect material that reflects the cultural expressions of African Americans ..."

National Center for the Study of Civil Rights and African-American Culture

"The Mission of the Alabama State University Center for the Study of Civil Rights and African-American Culture is two-fold: to serve as a clearinghouse for information concerning Montgomery, Alabama's pivotal role in the shaping and development of the modern civil rights movement, and to preserve and disseminate information reflective of socioeconomic conditions, political culture, and history of African-Americans in Montgomery. The Center will augment classroom instruction and curriculum through its living museum, scholarly seminars, publications, and appearances of its personnel at public forums around Montgomery and elsewhere. The facility will be a place for scholars, students, lay historians, and all people interested in studying the modern civil rights movement and Montgomery's place in it."

National Center