Skip to Main Content

Awards: Countess

The Libris Award

The Libris Award is presented annually by the library faculty and staff to an outstanding student library assistant.  Established in the 1992-93 academic year, this scholarship award recognizes exemplary performance of responsibilities in a manner contributing to the mission of the Library. 

Recipients of the scholarship award are:

Audra Rouse (1992-93)

Phyllis Y. Jews (1993-94)

Kathy Paschal (1994-95)

Elizabeth Polk (1995-96)

Brooke Eddins (1996-97)

Jennifer Bishop and Jennifer Horn (1997-98)

Melanie Hinson (1998-99)

Kimberly Cochrane (1999-2000)

Joni Bettis and Nathan Sumner (2000-01)

J. Hope Pinkerton (2001-02)

Brandon Addison and Angela Smith (2002-03)

Robert M. Staples (2003-04)

Amber Greenwood (2004-05)

Carrie O'Brien (2005-06)

Callia Johnson and Chris Owen (2006-07)

Kristi Fontaine (2007-08)

Kristi Fontaine and Steven Laye (2008-09)

Jasmin Woods (2009-10)

Matthew McGee (2010-11)

Savannah Rivers Barber (2011-12)

Quentin Ganious, Jr. (2012-13)

Katelynn (Katie) Annelise Lewis (2013-14)

Lyndi Rae Bradley and Joshua W. Veazey (2014-15)

Karissa Autumn White (2015-16)

Riley Julianne Szabo (2016-17)

Gavin Baugh (2017-18)

Sydni Williams (2018-19)

Caitlin Wright (2019-20)

Brittany Ward (2020-21)

Not awarded (2021-22)

Abigail McManigle (2022-23)

Victoria Elisabeth Grimes (2023-24)

The Student Art Purchase Prize Award

The Student Art Purchase Prize Award was established in the 1994-95 academic year and is presented to the student whose work is selected for acquisition by the Library for inclusion in its visual art collection.  Selection is made by the Director of the Library with the consultation of the Art Department faculty from eligible works exhibited in the annual student art show and/or senior capstone show.

Recipients of the award are:

Courtney Coker (1994-95), God

Aya Ishibashi (1995-96), Void

Stacy Loretta Smith (1996-97), Passages of Time

Stephanie Loy Kirby (1997-98), Untitled

Jenny Padgett (1998-99), Self-Portrait with Flames

Junko Yamazaki (1999-2000), PURE Child

Denis Huber (2000-01), The Second Group Portrait

Anne Marie Miller (2001-02), The Unthinkable

Lindsey Alexander (2002-03), The Walk

Suzanna Wasserman (2003-04), Intuition

Matt Johnson (2004-05), The Transfiguration

Andrea Garrett (2005-06), Full Circle

Erica Shawn Bryan (2006-07), Figure #1

Erica Shawn Bryan (2007-08), The Walrus and the Carpenter

Not awarded (2008-09)

Not awarded (2009-10)

Not awarded (2010-11)

Ivan Bush (2011-12), Curves & Angles

Alex Foster (2012-13), Girl

John-David (J.D.) William Swiger (2013-14), Self-Portrait of a College Student

Tyler Chaffee (2014-15), Stella Reimagined

Halee Anne Vaughan (2015-16), Glass Galaxy

Not awarded (2016-17)

Not awarded (2017-18)

Tamara Nanje (2018-19), Disconnected

Courtney Moore (2019-20) Ed's Calling

Alex Walker (2020-21) 2-volume Zine, Stories of Life, a two-volume set of Zines: Volume 1, From the Heart, and Volume 2, For the Soul

Caroline Elliot (2021-22) The Golden Line

Justin Rutledge (2022-23)  The Muse

Curator Contest (Presently Jointly by the Library and Archives)

2019:  Ciera Rogers - "Art - Huntingdon College"

2019:  Jennifer Knox - "Mangata"

2020:  Jessica Brunk:  “Huntingdon College Student - Harper Lee”

2020: Katie Cox:  “Panhellenic Conference and Panhellenic Council History at Huntingdon College”

2021:  Not Presented Contest (due to COVID-19 Pandemic)

2022:  Not Presented (due to COVID-19 Pandemic)

2023:  Caroline Elliot - "The Life of Mary Eoyang"

2023:  Vivian Scott - "The Evolution of 'The Prelude' "

2024:  Grayson Ryland:  "Huntingdon College 100 Years Ago"

2024:  Cale Chambliss:  "Massey Memorial Hall"