Databases by Discipline/Subject: Databases by Discipline/Subject
Interdisciplinary (little bit of everything)
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
This link opens in a new window
Alabama Mosaic *This link opens in a new windowAlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.
AlabamaMosaic was initiated under a grant from the Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and is now administered by the Network of Alabama Academic Libraries (NAAL).
Alabama Virtual LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research. Through the AVL, an equitable core of information sources is available to every student and citizen in Alabama, raising the level of excellence in schools and communities across the state.
This link opens in a new window
Please note, the Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) uses Geolocation technology to help determine if a user is located in Alabama. If the user can be authenticated (using geolocation), they are automatically logged in to the AVL resources. Otherwise, the user will need to login using an AVL username/password. (Users who live or travel out-of-state, will need an AVL card to access the AVL resources. For information about obtaining an AVL card, see the AVL FAQs at http://www.avl.lib.al.us/FAQs/)
Birmingham Public Digital Collection *This link opens in a new windowB'ham Public Libraries's Digital Collections were created to preserve and make available the local history of Birmingham and the surrounding area. These resources may help students, teachers, genealogists, historians and interested citizens learn more about the history of Birmingham.
Britannica Academic EditionThis link opens in a new windowBritannica Academic Edition (Britannica)
designed for college and university libraries
includes World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, and Notable Quotations
This link opens in a new window
Britannica Public Library EditionThis link opens in a new windowTwo unique home pages -- one for children and another for adults.
- contains 4 full encyclopedias, each covering the research needs of a different age group
- full-text magazine articles
homework help section for students
world atlas
- Merriam-Webster dictionaries and thesauri
- Spanish-English dictionary
Encyclopaedia Britannica OnlineThis link opens in a new windowBritannica is online, in e-books, and on mobile devices. Britannica is math, science, and social studies. Britannica is for the 2nd-grader learning math, the teacher explaining the laws of gravity, and the lifelong learner trying to understand the latest political crisis.
Chronicle of Higher EducationThis link opens in a new windowNews, information, and job postings for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology.
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used, through its three main elements:
Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
eBooks (Gale)This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) offers you an online collection of premier reference eBooks. You can search a single eBook, within a Subject, or across your library or institution's entire eBook collection.
Search all Ebsco Databases at once or several simultaneously.
Includes: Academic Search Premier (interdisciplinary), AHFS Consumer Medication Information, Alt HealthWatch (alternative medicine and wellness), APA PsycARTICLES, APA PsycINFO, ATLA Religion, Biography Reference Bank, Book Collection: Nonfiction, Business Source Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, eBook Collection, ERIC (education), GreenFIle (environment), Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Health Source-Consumer Edition and Health Source-Nursing/Academic Edition, History Reference Center, Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts, MAS Ultra - School Edition (high school), MasterFILE Premier (general audience interdisciplinary), Middle Search Plus (middle school), Military & Government Collection, MLS Directory of Periodicals, MLA International Bibliography, Newspaper Source, Primary Search (elementary school), Professional Development Collection (for educators), Regional Business News, SPORTDiscus, Teacher Reference Center, Vocational and Career Collection.
Ebsco E-JournalsE-Journals from EBSCOhost® provides access to electronic journals and full text of articles for journals managed through EBSCOhost® Electronic Journals Service (EJS), as well as usage of SmartLinks in EBSCOhost. E-Journals from EBSCOhost allows search and retrieval of citations, abstracts and full text. Users will have access to titles from publishers who have given EBSCO permission to re-use Table of Contents and abstract information in an aggregated database. Please note that this does not represent all of the titles available in EJS. Limiters can be utilized to further narrow search results. Most of these titles are scientific, technological or medical in nature. This database has been designed to support the same linking functionality that is already standard in EBSCOhost databases.
Ebsco Newspaper SourceThis link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
First Search (Worldcat)This link opens in a new windowIncludes content from 12 databases: ArticleFirst (index of articles from the contents pages of journals), ClasePeriodica (index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities), Eco (collection of scholarly journals), ERIC (journal articles and reports in education), GPO (U.S. Government publications), MEDLINE (covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing), OAIster (a union catalog of digital resources), PapersFirst (index of papers presented at conference worldwide), Proceedings (index of worldwide conference proceedings), WorldAlmanac (Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia plus four almanacs), WorldCat (OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide), WorldCatDissertations (database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat),
Funk & Wagnalls New World EncyclopediaThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
History Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowHistory Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Learn how to get connected below. We have access to 27 journal archive and primary source collections, totalling over 2000 different collections.
From 1936 to 2000, Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations.
MasterFILE PremierThis link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
This link opens in a new window
Media Bias ChartAd Fontes Media, Inc. is a company founded in 2018 by Vanessa Otero, creator of the Media Bias Chart®. The mission of Ad Fontes Media is “to make news consumers smarter and news media better.”
Students and faculty at Huntingdon College can create free accounts to access the Media Bias Chart. Click on the link and follow the instructions in creating a free account. If you have any issues, please feel free to contact us at libsystems@hawks.huntingdon.edu
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers Digital ArchiveThis link opens in a new window19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
This full-text searchable, facsimile-image database makes experiencing historical events, daily life and 19th-century American culture as easy as clicking a mouse. 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides both professional and general researchers with easy access to seemingly endless information and primary resources — the vast majority of which have never before been accessible online.
ProQuestThis link opens in a new windowSearch all databases individually or simultaneously (including Ethic NewsWatch, ProQuest Newstand, Hoover's Company Profiles, and the electronic versions of several national newspapers: The Atlanta Journal & Constitution, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, USA Today, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.).
Sage KnowledgeThis link opens in a new windowSAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. Hosting more than 4,200 titles, it includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
Includes: - The Sixties in America; Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society; African American History; American History; American Leaders; World History and World Religions.
Salem Press Reference ShelfThis link opens in a new windowSalem History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets. Includes: - The Sixties in America; Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society; African American History; American History; American Leaders; World History and World Religions.
SpringerReference.com is a platform for researchers and academic and corporate libraries. It offers living editions of Springer's eReferences well in advance of their print editions across every subject. Through the platform, authors can submit articles and updates to their articles whenever they deem necessary to keep up with the demand for the most recent scientific developments.
Book Collection: NonfictionThis link opens in a new windowBook Collection: Nonfiction is a rich research database for school and public libraries. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info.
Books in PrintThis link opens in a new windowIncludes Books In Print and Fiction Connection/Non-Fiction Connection (reader's advisories).
Chronicle of Higher EducationThis link opens in a new windowNews, information, and job postings for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
First Search (Worldcat)This link opens in a new windowIncludes content from 12 databases: ArticleFirst (index of articles from the contents pages of journals), ClasePeriodica (index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities), Eco (collection of scholarly journals), ERIC (journal articles and reports in education), GPO (U.S. Government publications), MEDLINE (covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing), OAIster (a union catalog of digital resources), PapersFirst (index of papers presented at conference worldwide), Proceedings (index of worldwide conference proceedings), WorldAlmanac (Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia plus four almanacs), WorldCat (OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide), WorldCatDissertations (database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat),
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)This link opens in a new windowLibrary, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
This link opens in a new window
Literature: Book Review Index (Gale)This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
Resources for College LibrariesThis link opens in a new window"Welcome to Resources for College Libraries, the premier list of core print and electronic resources for academic libraries, featuring over 75,000 titles in 117 subjects.
Education (incl Teacher Education)
Britannica School EditionThis link opens in a new window- four age-appropriate encyclopedias
- current magazine and journal articles
- Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate and Student Dictionaries and Thesauri (audio pronunciations)
- world atlas
- Learning Materials correlated to the Alabama State Standards
This link opens in a new window
Chronicle of Higher EducationThis link opens in a new windowNews, information, and job postings for college and university faculty members and administrators.
College SourceThis link opens in a new windowCollege Source is a collection of college and university catalogs.
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Comprehensive preparation for the most popular graduate school entrance exams. To access the exams, please create an account on Learning Express' website using your college email. All exams are covered under our license.
MAS Ultra - School EditionThis link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Middle Search PlusThis link opens in a new windowMiddle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags
Primary Search This link opens in a new windowPrimary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Professional Development CollectionThis link opens in a new windowDesigned for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowTeacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Turnitin.comThis link opens in a new windowTurnitin helps teach students how to avoid plagiarism and improve their writing. How does it work? Professors establish "classes" within the Turnitin database, require students to submit their work, Turnitin then searches student writing for possible problem areas and issues a report back to the professor and student, which the professor and student can review and discuss how the student can improve his or her writing and learn how to avoid instances of plagiarism.
OperaVisionWatch live streams as the operas themselves unfold in the opera house. View your favourite performances, subtitled, on demand. Learn about the art form and specific productions by browsing our richly populated digital library, stories, and articles. Discover resources for young audiences and for artistic career development. In English, French, and German, thoughtfully curated, and free to browse and explore.
The Opera DatabaseThe Opera Database's mission is threefold:
~To create a comprehensive database of operas.
~To catalog arias and create PDFs from Public Domain sources, for the purpose of broadening the opera singer's audition repertoire and seeking out rarely heard pieces.
~To create a repository for operatic information, including libretti, scores, and synopses.
Business: Insights (Gale)This link opens in a new window- articles and images from academic and business journals
- management issues, economic indicators and business theories and practices
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Regional Business NewsThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info.
Scholarships; Fellowships & LoansThis link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies. Covers a variety of programs in all educational areas, including area and ethnic studies, business, computer science, education, liberal arts, medicine, physical sciences, theology and religion, and more. Intended for students and others interested in education funding.
SpringerReference.com is a platform for researchers and academic and corporate libraries. It offers living editions of Springer's eReferences well in advance of their print editions across every subject. Through the platform, authors can submit articles and updates to their articles whenever they deem necessary to keep up with the demand for the most recent scientific developments.
Women Working 1800-1930 *This link opens in a new windowOpen Collection Program at Harvard University Library
Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Ebsco Newspaper SourceThis link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Internet Movie Database *This link opens in a new windowIncludes reviews, biographies and movie trailers
Media Bias ChartAd Fontes Media, Inc. is a company founded in 2018 by Vanessa Otero, creator of the Media Bias Chart®. The mission of Ad Fontes Media is “to make news consumers smarter and news media better.”
Students and faculty at Huntingdon College can create free accounts to access the Media Bias Chart. Click on the link and follow the instructions in creating a free account. If you have any issues, please feel free to contact us at libsystems@hawks.huntingdon.edu
Alabama Mosaic *This link opens in a new windowAlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.
AlabamaMosaic was initiated under a grant from the Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and is now administered by the Network of Alabama Academic Libraries (NAAL).
Ballotpedia is the digital encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Our goal is to inform people about politics by providing accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government. We are firmly committed to neutrality in our content.
Birmingham Public Digital Collection *This link opens in a new windowB'ham Public Libraries's Digital Collections were created to preserve and make available the local history of Birmingham and the surrounding area. These resources may help students, teachers, genealogists, historians and interested citizens learn more about the history of Birmingham.
Ebsco Newspaper SourceThis link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
History Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowHistory Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
From 1936 to 2000, Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations.
Military & Government CollectionThis link opens in a new windowDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers Digital ArchiveThis link opens in a new window19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
This full-text searchable, facsimile-image database makes experiencing historical events, daily life and 19th-century American culture as easy as clicking a mouse. 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides both professional and general researchers with easy access to seemingly endless information and primary resources — the vast majority of which have never before been accessible online.
Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowIncludes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
This database contains:
-5.4 million cross-searchable pages: 12049 books, 170 serials, 71 manuscript collections, 377 supreme court records and briefs and 194 reference articles from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias.
-Links to websites, biographies, chronology, bibliographies, and information on key collections, to give users background and context for further research.
-Collections published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, the Bibliothèque nationale de France, the British Library, the National Archives in Kew, Oberlin College, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and many other institutions.
Women Working 1800-1930 *This link opens in a new windowOpen Collection Program at Harvard University Library
Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and IdentitiesThis link opens in a new windowThe archive covers primarily the 19th and 20th centuries and incorporates a range of primary sources, providing a close look at some of the pioneers of women’s history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society.
Comprehensive preparation for the most popular graduate school entrance exams. To access the exams, please create an account on Learning Express' website using your college email. All exams are covered under our license.
ProQuest's Criminal Justice database provides over 600 publications to search.
Literature
APA StyleAPA Style is used by writers in many disciplines around the world for concise, powerful, and persuasive scholarly communication.
Book Collection: NonfictionThis link opens in a new windowBook Collection: Nonfiction is a rich research database for school and public libraries. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info.
Books in PrintThis link opens in a new windowIncludes Books In Print and Fiction Connection/Non-Fiction Connection (reader's advisories).
eBooks (Gale)This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) offers you an online collection of premier reference eBooks. You can search a single eBook, within a Subject, or across your library or institution's entire eBook collection.
Essay & General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson)This link opens in a new windowEssay and General Literature Index, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, is a unique reference database that cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 320 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually with more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications.
Essay & General Literature Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowEssay and General Literature Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites essays, articles and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. It covers 8 decades (1900-1984) of essays, annuals and serial publications from the 20th Century.
Literature: Book Review Index (Gale)This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
Literature: Scribner Writers Online (Gale)This link opens in a new windowScribner Writers Series (Gale)
15-20 page signed essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres drawn from the acclaimed Scribner print series.
Literature: Twayne's Authors Online (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThe acclaimed Scribner Writers series provides students, teachers, and other researchers access to more than 2,000 original, comprehensive, scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world and from all time periods. Each entry averages 15-20 pages in length and includes a concise essay and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context. Articles are written by noted literary scholars, and the American Writers and British Writers series are managed and edited by Jay Parini, a novelist and professor of English and Creative Writing at Middlebury College in Vermont.
This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)This link opens in a new windowGale literary references reach back 20 to 30 years—taken together as print, they could fill 230 feet of shelf space! But now, hundreds of volumes are digitized and ready to read with Literature Criticism Online. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It’s all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today’s researchers demand.
Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThe world’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database, Literature Resource Center is uniquely relevant to today’s researcher. Its rich critical, biographical and contextual content supports interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy and the development of critical-thinking skills.
MLA Directory of PeriodicalsThis link opens in a new windowThe MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
The Time Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1923 of the American popular magazine Time, published by Time Inc.
The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary is a six-volume state-of-the-art dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics.
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries span over 89 volumes and is one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars. This prestigious commentary series represents the pinnacle of biblical scholarship.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsThis link opens in a new windowATLA Religion Database® (ATLA RDB®) with ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 620,000 article citations from more than 1,746 journals (575 currently indexed), more than 250,000 essay citations from over 18,000 multi-author works, more than 570,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. In ATLASerials, full text is provided for more than 380,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Human Anatomy Atlas 2020 provides access to medically accurate male and female 3D gross anatomy models. Human Anatomy Atlas 2020 content includes:
3D models that can be studied from any angle and various zoom levels
MRI & CT scans, augmented reality, dissection tool, and more
SPORTDiscus with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
AccessScienceThis link opens in a new window"Welcome to McGraw-Hill's AccessScience 2.0 - featuring fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition. The new generation of AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology. It's easier than ever to find what you're looking for and put it to use quickly."
BioOneThis link opens in a new window"For its users—students, researchers, and unaffiliated individuals—BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation. Complementing this content is an agile new platform launched in January 2009 that allows for easy navigation to content both within and outside the BioOne aggregation, as well as researcher-designed toolbars with valuable title, article, and reference-linking tools."
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
GreenFILEThis link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
MathSciNet Mathematical ReviewsThis link opens in a new windowMathSciNet® is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. (From the MathSciNet website)
PLOS One (Public Library of Science)This link opens in a new window"PLOS ONE ... is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication. PLOS ONE welcomes reports on primary research from any scientific discipline. It provides:
PsycARTICLES (APA)This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO (APA)This link opens in a new windowThe APA PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubMed *This link opens in a new windowU.S. National Library Medicine
ScienceThis link opens in a new windowIncludes access to the following science journals: Science Magazine,
Science Signaling, Science Translational Medicine, Science Express and abstracts of Science Classic.
Founded in 1880 on $10,000 of seed money from the American inventor Thomas Edison, Science has grown to become the world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research, with the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general-science journal.
Access to this database requires a user ID which must be created using the @hawks.huntingdon.edu email domain. This may be done by going to the following URL
https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=23B7E71DX86F350ABX3786481D542DEE0A27
and following the instructions.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
SpringerReference.com is a platform for researchers and academic and corporate libraries. It offers living editions of Springer's eReferences well in advance of their print editions across every subject. Through the platform, authors can submit articles and updates to their articles whenever they deem necessary to keep up with the demand for the most recent scientific developments.
SpringerReference.com is a platform for researchers and academic and corporate libraries. It offers living editions of Springer's eReferences well in advance of their print editions across every subject. Through the platform, authors can submit articles and updates to their articles whenever they deem necessary to keep up with the demand for the most recent scientific developments.
Alt HealthWatchThis link opens in a new windowThis database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990
Health InfoNet of Alabama"What's unique about Health InfoNet? It's the expertise of librarians all over Alabama ready to help you keep from drowning in a sea of health information while searching for just the information you need. Just call your local public library. No matter where you are, your local librarian is ready to help you with your health question, with backup help from the state medical libraries at the University of Alabama at Birmingham and the University of South Alabama. Or call 1-855-INFONET (1-855-463-6638) and you will be directed to your best source."
Health Source: Consumer EditionThis link opens in a new windowThis database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
PLOS One (Public Library of Science)This link opens in a new window"PLOS ONE ... is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication. PLOS ONE welcomes reports on primary research from any scientific discipline. It provides:
PubMed *This link opens in a new windowU.S. National Library Medicine
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Congressional DigestThis link opens in a new windowArchives of Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates.
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology.
Ebsco Newspaper SourceThis link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Ethnic NewsWatchThis link opens in a new windowEthnic and minority publications - journal articles. Subject Area(s): History , The Arts , News & Newspapers , Social Sciences , Literature & Language
Issues & Controversies (Facts-on-File)This link opens in a new window"Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture." A good resource for finding differing viewpoints on an issue.
Media Bias ChartAd Fontes Media, Inc. is a company founded in 2018 by Vanessa Otero, creator of the Media Bias Chart®. The mission of Ad Fontes Media is “to make news consumers smarter and news media better.”
Students and faculty at Huntingdon College can create free accounts to access the Media Bias Chart. Click on the link and follow the instructions in creating a free account. If you have any issues, please feel free to contact us at libsystems@hawks.huntingdon.edu
Pew Research Center"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts."
Issues & Controversies (Facts-on-File)This link opens in a new window"Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture." A good resource for finding differing viewpoints on an issue.
Media Bias ChartAd Fontes Media, Inc. is a company founded in 2018 by Vanessa Otero, creator of the Media Bias Chart®. The mission of Ad Fontes Media is “to make news consumers smarter and news media better.”
Students and faculty at Huntingdon College can create free accounts to access the Media Bias Chart. Click on the link and follow the instructions in creating a free account. If you have any issues, please feel free to contact us at libsystems@hawks.huntingdon.edu
Pew Research Center"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts."
From 1936 to 2000, Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations.
The Time Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1923 of the American popular magazine Time, published by Time Inc.
Jet is an American weekly digital magazine focusing on news, culture, and entertainment related to the African-American community. Founded in November 1951 by John H. Johnson of the Johnson Publishing Company in Chicago, Illinois, the magazine was billed as "The Weekly Negro News Magazine".
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.This link opens in a new windowThe ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
GenderWatchThis link opens in a new windowThis is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Independent Voices"The flood-like appearance of an alternative press in the late 1960s expressed the upsurge of dissent and of aspiration of American youth. Feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals and the New Left, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, and members of the LGBT communities all began to publish newspapers and periodicals. Drawing their inspiration from the successes and failures of the Civil Rights movement and the movement against the Vietnam War, an amorphous but broad movement for radical change splintered. Black civil rights organizations like SNCC expelled whites from their organization, Students for a Democratic Society became increasingly divided over tactics and goals; radical feminists challenged male-dominated New Left groups as organizations that replicated the gendered roles of society they purportedly were seeking the remake; and marginalized groups like members of the LGBT community resisted police harassment at Stonewall and beyond. All of these groups found their voices in the alternative press.
From 2013 through January of 2020, Reveal Digital will release seven series on the alternative press focusing on that transformative period of the 1960’s – 1980s.
* Feminist
* LGBT
* Ethnicity and Race
* Campus/community
* GI Press
* Small literary magazines
* Right-wing press
The Collection includes the complete runs of newspapers, magazines and journals drawn from the special collections of source libraries. When completed, Independent Voices will represent the largest digital collection of alternative press titles, with complete runs of over 1,000 titles and 750,000 pages. We are holding open 10% of the expected page count to allow funding libraries to suggest titles to fit any local needs.
In May 2018 Independent Voices was made open access. The entire collection is freely open to anyone thanks to the financial support provided by the project’s Funding Libraries. The Collection is hosted on the Reveal Digital platform, which provides page image-based access with full-text searching, hit-term highlighting, searchable title and issue-level metadata and browsing by series, title and source library."
An information pathfinder created by Librarian John Otto, Seattle Public Library.
Women Working 1800-1930 *This link opens in a new windowOpen Collection Program at Harvard University Library
Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and IdentitiesThis link opens in a new windowThe archive covers primarily the 19th and 20th centuries and incorporates a range of primary sources, providing a close look at some of the pioneers of women’s history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society.
"All My Relations is a team of folks who care about representations, and how Native peoples are represented in mainstream media. Between us we have decades of experience working in and with Native communities, and writing and speaking about issues of representation. "
Ethnic NewsWatchThis link opens in a new windowEthnic and minority publications - journal articles. Subject Area(s): History , The Arts , News & Newspapers , Social Sciences , Literature & Language
Independent Voices"The flood-like appearance of an alternative press in the late 1960s expressed the upsurge of dissent and of aspiration of American youth. Feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals and the New Left, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, and members of the LGBT communities all began to publish newspapers and periodicals. Drawing their inspiration from the successes and failures of the Civil Rights movement and the movement against the Vietnam War, an amorphous but broad movement for radical change splintered. Black civil rights organizations like SNCC expelled whites from their organization, Students for a Democratic Society became increasingly divided over tactics and goals; radical feminists challenged male-dominated New Left groups as organizations that replicated the gendered roles of society they purportedly were seeking the remake; and marginalized groups like members of the LGBT community resisted police harassment at Stonewall and beyond. All of these groups found their voices in the alternative press.
From 2013 through January of 2020, Reveal Digital will release seven series on the alternative press focusing on that transformative period of the 1960’s – 1980s.
* Feminist
* LGBT
* Ethnicity and Race
* Campus/community
* GI Press
* Small literary magazines
* Right-wing press
The Collection includes the complete runs of newspapers, magazines and journals drawn from the special collections of source libraries. When completed, Independent Voices will represent the largest digital collection of alternative press titles, with complete runs of over 1,000 titles and 750,000 pages. We are holding open 10% of the expected page count to allow funding libraries to suggest titles to fit any local needs.
In May 2018 Independent Voices was made open access. The entire collection is freely open to anyone thanks to the financial support provided by the project’s Funding Libraries. The Collection is hosted on the Reveal Digital platform, which provides page image-based access with full-text searching, hit-term highlighting, searchable title and issue-level metadata and browsing by series, title and source library."
Daily news source that covers the Indigenous world.
JET Magazine ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowJet is an American weekly digital magazine focusing on news, culture, and entertainment related to the African-American community. Founded in November 1951 by John H. Johnson of the Johnson Publishing Company in Chicago, Illinois, the magazine was billed as "The Weekly Negro News Magazine".
Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowIncludes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
This database contains:
-5.4 million cross-searchable pages: 12049 books, 170 serials, 71 manuscript collections, 377 supreme court records and briefs and 194 reference articles from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias.
-Links to websites, biographies, chronology, bibliographies, and information on key collections, to give users background and context for further research.
-Collections published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, the Bibliothèque nationale de France, the British Library, the National Archives in Kew, Oberlin College, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and many other institutions.
Comprehensive preparation for the most popular graduate school entrance exams. To access the exams, please create an account on Learning Express' website using your college email. All exams are covered under our license.
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Vocational and Career CollectionThis link opens in a new windowVocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
This link opens in a new window
