Political Cartoons: Political & Editorial Cartooning

Credit: Kevin Necessary

The following is a list of resources of political cartoons available here at Huntingdon and around the Internet.

• Issues & Controversies (Facts on File) 
  • Click on the Editorial Cartoons and Questions under Featured Resources.
• ProQuest Database  
  • Click on the ProQuest banner on the top right. Then click on Advanced Search. Under Document Type, select "Editorial Cartoon/Comic" and hit Search. 
• Cartoon Bank  
  • A searchable index of The New Yorker cartoons.
• Google  
  • Search "Political Cartoons" and click on the Images link at the top of the page. 
• Puck 
  • An American satirical magazine from the latter part of the 19th century. Published many editorial cartoons and other comics. Access is via HathiTrust. Open a volume for a time period and browse contents or search within volumes once open.
• Thomas Nast 
  • Providing many of the political cartoons of Thomas Nast, the "Father of American Political Cartoon."
• Punch 
  • A British satirical magazine published since the mid-19th century. The issues are available from HathiTrust. 
• Association of American Editorial Cartoonists 
  • A great source that provides access to recent political cartoonists. 

• Cartoon Drawings Collection - From the Library of Congress, this collection "offers more than 9,000 original drawings, caricatures, and comic strips spanning the late 1700s to the present, primarily from 1880 to 1980. The cartoons cover people and events throughout the world, but most of the images were intended for publication in American newspapers and magazines."
• Swann Collection of Caricature and Cartoon - "Contains 2,085 drawings, prints, and paintings related to the art of caricature, cartoon, and illustration, spanning the years 1780 to 1977 and includes works by 521 American and foreign artists and illustrators. Most of the images are cartoons, comic strips, and periodical illustrations drawn by American artists between 1890 and 1970."
• American Cartoon Prints - "This assemblage of more than 800 prints made in America during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries encompasses several forms of political art. Most of the prints are from the division's PC/US series, which consists of individually cataloged political cartoons and caricatures."
• Herblock Collection - "Herbert L. Block (1909-2001), known to the world as Herblock, was one of the most influential political commentators and editorial cartoonists in American history. His long chronicle of major social and political events began to appear in newspapers in 1929, and he continued to document domestic and international events for 72 years."
• British Cartoon Prints - "The Prints and Photographs Division holds one of the largest collections of British political and satirical prints in America. The approximately 9,000 prints (approximately 8,500 distinct images) in the collection highlight British political life, society, fashion, manners, and theater. They were published primarily between 1780 and 1830, an era dominated by the prodigious talents and prolific efforts of such famous caricaturists as James Gillray and George Cruikshank."