Countess: Montgomery Higher Education Consortium (MHEC): Auburn University Montgomery

About Us

Telephone Contacts:

Library Office: (334) 244-3200

Reference Desk: (334) 244-3649

Circulation Desk: (334) 244-3647

Archives/Special Collections: (334) 244-3213

Government Documents: (334) 244-3650

Mailing Address:

AUM Library, P.O. Box 244023, Montgomery, AL 36124-4023

AUM Library
Library Hours
Library Personnel
Find Us on Facebook
Directions & Parking
The library is located on campus in the Ida Belle Young Library Tower at 7440 East Drive.

Library Policies for MHEC Users

Members of the Montgomery Higher Education Consortium (MHEC) may borrow up to five (5) items at a time from the AUM library. Items must be returned to the AUM library.

Remember, that before visiting us, you will need to stop by the circulation desk at your "home" library to get a gold consortium sticker for your college/university ID.

Database Access: MHEC users may access AUM Library databases for research using the visitor computers near the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of the Library.

Printing and photocopying are available at 10 cents per page. Color printing and photocopying is 25 cents per page. Scanning is available at no charge. Printers, photocopiers, and scanners are located on the 2nd floor.

Multi-Search Online Catalog

Online Catalog
The AUM Library uses the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System. If you are unfamiliar with the LC system, ask a librarian for help. You can use the "Key to Location" feature in the online catalog to help locate items within the library building.

Research Assistance

Need help with research?
Research assistance is available at the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of the Library or by calling (334) 244-3649. Use the link for AUM Library's 'Make an Appointment" e-mail reference service. This service provides help with simple, factual questions or with questions about library services and resources.

Foundation Center

Cooperating Collection of the Foundation Center
"The AUM Library is a Cooperating Collection of the Foundation Center ... As a member of this nationwide network of libraries, community foundations, and other nonprofit agencies, the Library provides free public access to grantmaker directories, books on fundraising and nonprofit management, the Foundation Directory Online Professional, and the Foundation Grants to Individuals Online. The fully searchable databases include detailed profiles of all active U.S. foundations, as well as an extensive file of recent grants awarded by the nation’s top funders. The databases are accessible on computers at the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor."

Government Documents

What will I find in Government Documents?
"The Auburn University Montgomery Library became a Federal Depository library in 1971 and in 1976 was designated as Alabama’s second Regional library. The Department receives 100% of the publications, maps and electronic data distributed by the Government Printing Office. These publications are available to anyone who desires access to them.

... The collection is made up of print volumes and microfiche, maps, posters, pamphlets, CD-ROMs, disks and DVDs. Government Publications cover a wide range of topics and are valuable resources for research."

Archives & Special Collections

What will I find in the AUM Archvies & Special Collections?
Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

The Archives houses records from "... approximately twenty university offices. Also included are unbound theses prepared by university students.

The Special Collections component focuses upon acquiring books, manuscripts, photographs, audiovisual materials, and architectural drawings focusing upon specific subject areas. Among the areas in which the unit collects are: Alabama history, literature and politics; Montgomery, Autauga and Elmore County (Alabama) histories; the Civil War; Southern Women's Literature; Southern Prose and Poetry; and Southern Genealogy."