Houghton Memorial Library 1500 E. Fairview Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36106
Library Hours: Spring Semester 2014
- Monday, Jan. 20 (Martin Luther King Day) 7:30am-4:45pm (College open)
- Library resumes regular hours Tuesday, Jan. 21, which will be:
- Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am-11:00 pm
- Friday, 7:30 am-4:45 pm
- Saturday, 12:00 noon-4:45 pm
- Sunday: 5:00 pm-11:00 pm
- Spring Break: Saturday, March 22-Sunday, March 30--Closed
- Easter: College is closed for Good Friday; Library open Saturday, April 19, 8:00am-4:45pm, Closed Easter Sunday.
- NOTE: The Library is open regular hours on In-Service Days
Today is Earth Day!
How to Read a Scholarly Article - Here's a nice, brief video on how to approach a scholarly article. Click on the link below!
How to Read a Scholarly Article
At the present, the following databases are not discoverable (i.e. cannot be searched) through Countess OneSearch. We are working with vendors to address this, but have no prediction as to when this issue might be resolved. In the meantime, you will need to search these databases individually.
- Access Science
"Welcome to McGraw-Hill's AccessScience 2.0 - a top-to-bottom redesign of the premiere online science platform, featuring fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition. The new generation of AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology. It's easier than ever to find what you're looking for and put it to use quickly."
- Issues & Controversies (Facts-on-File)
"Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture." A good resource for finding differing viewpoints on an issue.
- LION - Literature Online
"Welcome to Literature Online, a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 356 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources."
- Literature Criticism Online
Gale literary references reach back 20 to 30 years—taken together as print, they could fill 230 feet of shelf space! But now, hundreds of volumes are digitized and ready to read with Literature Criticism Online. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It’s all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today’s researchers demand.
- MathSciNet Mathematical Reviews
MathSciNet® is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. (From the MathSciNet website)
- Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in subscriptions to Grove Music Online.
- Sage Knowledge
SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. Hosting more than 4,200 titles, it includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
- Springer Reference
SpringerReference.com is a platform for researchers and academic and corporate libraries. It offers living editions of Springer's eReferences well in advance of their print editions across every subject. Through the platform, authors can submit articles and updates to their articles whenever they deem necessary to keep up with the demand for the most recent scientific developments.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
- A Knock at Midnight : Inspiration from the Great Sermons of Reverend Martin Luther King, Jr.
- Milestone Documents in World History : Exploring the Primary Sources that Shaped the World
Also available as an e-book.
- Chisholm '72 : Unbought & Unbossed
- The Quiltmakers of Gee's Bend
- The Eyes on the Prize : Civil Rights Reader : Documents, Speeches, and Firsthand Accounts from the Black Freedom Struggle, 1954-1990
- Women of blaxploitation : how the black action film heroine changed American popular culture
- Blues for New Orleans : Mardi Gras and America's Creole soul
"The photographer turns her lens to a favorite topic, women, sharing her portraits of Hillary Rodham Clinton, Eudora Welty, Martina Navratilova, and Jodie Foster, as well as women from other walks of life, including a Navajo weaver, an astronaut, and a rancher."
- The Goddess Letters: A Myth of Demeter & Persephone Retold
- Letters to a Young Scientist by E.O. Wilson
Not just for the aspiring scientist. Alabamian and Harvard biologist Wilson has much to share.
- New Selected Stories by Alice Munro
New stories from the latest recipient of the Nobel Prize in Literature.
- A Right to Read : Segregation and Civil Rights in Alabama's Public Libraries, 1900-1965