Countess: Website Redesign 2.0: Countess

Find Books, Films, Articles and more...

Note: The "Non-Required Reading" section is located on the first floor of the Library in the Slawson Commons area. The "Alabama Collection" is currently located on the second floor, Dixon Wing section, immediately following the 800s.

Library Hours

Spring Break Hours:

Thursday, March 16, "24/7" hours begin at 5:00 p.m.

Friday, March 17, regular hours until 5:00 p.m.

Library fully closed beginning 5:00 p.m. Friday, March 17 until

5:00 p.m. Sunday, March 26 (only "24/7" hours available Sunday evening, March 26)

Library will resume regular hours Monday, March 27.

Spring Semester Hours:

* Remember -- The virtual Library is always open!

Monday - Thursday, 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.

Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Saturday, "24/7" hours only

Sunday, 5:00 - 11:00 p.m.

For all other hours, Slawson Commons hours (i.e. "24/7" hours) apply

Archives Hours:

Generally - Tuesday-Thursday, 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

About Us

Celebrating Black History Month

National Museum of African American History & Culture

Black History Month
"The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society."
Association for the Study of African American Life & History
National Geographic Kids
"Here's the Story Behind Black History Month -- and Why It's Celebrated in February" (NPR)

Library YouTube Channel

Our Library's New YouTube Channel
Check the link to be taken to the Library's new YouTube channel. We'll be using the channel for "how-to" videos, recordings of various Library events, and other things we think might be of interest to the Huntingdon community.

Library Card Application

Houghton Memorial Library - Card Application
Application for students, faculty and staff (requires Huntingdon email address).

Contact the Library via phone:

(334) 833-4421 or (334) 833-4512

What's Going On?

Ukraine LibGuide published
The Library has created a LibGuide on the current crisis in Ukraine. We'll continue to develop it as additional information sources are considered.

COVID-19 Resources

https://libguides.huntingdon.edu/COVID-19

New Databases

Criminal Justice ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Criminal Justice database provides over 600 publications to search.

Media Bias Chart
Ad Fontes Media, Inc. is a company founded in 2018 by Vanessa Otero, creator of the Media Bias Chart®. The mission of Ad Fontes Media is “to make news consumers smarter and news media better.”

Students and faculty at Huntingdon College can create free accounts to access the Media Bias Chart. Click on the link and follow the instructions in creating a free account. If you have any issues, please feel free to contact us at libsystems@hawks.huntingdon.edu

Grad School Test Prep This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive preparation for the most popular graduate school entrance exams. To access the exams, please create an account on Learning Express' website using your college email. All exams are covered under our license.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Streaming essential independent, social-issue and environmental films to colleges, universities and K-12 schools, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.
Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary is a six-volume state-of-the-art dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics.
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries This link opens in a new window
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries span over 89 volumes and is one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars. This prestigious commentary series represents the pinnacle of biblical scholarship.

Trial Databases

We will have more trial databases in the Spring Semester.

Swank Digital Films

Kanopy Films

Librarian

Daniel Dubei

He, Him, His

Email Me

Contact:

Houghton Memorial Library,
Huntingdon College
1500 East Fairview Ave.
Montgomery, AL 36106

334-833-4529

Website Redesign 2.0: Countess

For Testing